New-look sports awards will be more prestigious

The British Sports Journalism Awards are to get a new look.

Promoted jointly by Sport England and the Sports Writers’ Association of Great Britain (SWA), the awards have been streamlined in a bid to recognise only the very best writers and photographers.

The event has been upgraded from an informal gathering to a dinner on 24 March at the Radisson SAS Portman Hotel, London.

In the journalism awards, the categories have been reduced from eight to five – sports feature writer; sports columnist; specialist correspondent; sports news story (which combines the previous sports news reporter and sports story categories); and regional sports writer, which also includes the former local weekly sports writer.

The overall sports journalist of the year award will now commemorate the name of the former SWA president John Bromley OBE, who died last year. There will also be a silver replica for the winner to keep, donated by his widow Carole Ann.

The Doug Gardner Award, which honours the name of the late long-serving SWA secretary, will continue to be awarded, the winner chosen by the SWA officers and committee.

The categories for the sports photographer of the year have been reduced from nine to six – sports picture; sports portfolio; specialist portfolio; sports news picture; sport for all picture; and the David Worthy memorial award.

Full shortlists can be found on pressgazette.co.uk

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *