Independent shortlisted for BPA tabloid journalism prize

The British Press Awards shortlists for the visual categories and the prize for outstanding tabloid journalism have been announced today.

Five newspapers — including the compact Independent — were shortlisted for the Hugh Cudlipp Award for tabloid journalism, which is sponsored by the British Journalism Review.

The Independent is in the running for its campaigning on the environment.

The other shortlists announced today are for individual journalists in the cartoonist, photographer and sportsphotographer categories.

The shortlists for the other categories were announced on 27 February.

The Observer, The Guardian, the Daily Mail, the Mail on Sunday and the Daily Mirror are in the running to collect the Newspaper of the Year award at the awards ceremony, which will be held at London's Grosvenor House on 26 March.

The remaining shortlists in full:

The Hugh Cudlipp Award

The Daily Mail ‘National Memorial’
Daily Mirror ‘Penman & Sommerlad’
The Independent ‘Environmental Issues’
News of the World ‘Sarah’s Law’
The Sun ‘Giant Leaps’

Cartoonist of the Year

Peter Brookes The Times
Dave Brown The Independent
Michael Heath The Mail on Sunday
Mac The Daily Mail
Matt Pritchett Daily Telegraph & Sunday Telegraph

Photographer of the Year

Charlie Bibby Financial Times
James Clarke The Sun
Ian Jones The Daily Telegraph
Richard Pohle The Times
Andrew Stenning Daily Mirror

Sports Photographer of the Year

Gareth Copley PA Photos
Tom Jenkins The Guardian
Colin Mearns The Herald
Mark Pain Mail on Sunday
Dave Shopland Mail on Sunday

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *