Magazine Journalism Awards winners unveiled - Press Gazette

Magazine Journalism Awards winners unveiled

Lillian Anekwe

Lillian Anekwe of Pulse magazine was named news reporter of the year.

B2B journalists led the winners of Press Gazette’s magazine journalism awards, which were announced at a ceremony in London this evening [Thursday 18 October].

Business reporter went to Vikki Miller of CMPI’s Building magazine. The judges said: ‘She knows what matters to her audience, and she can get the stories to prove it.’

Other CMPi winner was Lillian Anekwe of Pulse magazine who was named news reporter of the year. The judges commented: ‘ Lillian first revealed plans for the massive new investment in psychotherapies back in May. She consistently breaks stories of national importance.”

The winner in the digital journalist category was Tony Collins of Computer Weekly, who the judges commended for his investigative work into the NHS IT project. They said: ‘More of us should read this. Staggering sums are wasted on badly managed IT projects, and Tony is usually the first to know.”

The Mail on Sunday‘s men’s supplement picked up two awards for its journalists. Live’s feature writer Jonathan Green won in his category while Piers Morgan won columnist of the year.

The award for magazine exclusive went to James Inverne, editor of Gramophone magazine, for his story on the con behind Joyce Hatto’s virtuoso performances.

Other award winners were Rachel Cooke, Observer Magazine for interviewer of the year; Ryan Gilbey, New Statesman for reviewer of the year; and Radio Times for subbing team of the year.

The awards were presented at a ceremony in Soho club, Foridita this evening. The awards, which celebrate the best in magazine journalism were presented alongside the Magazine Design Awards.

MJA winners:

Business reporter
Vikki Miller – Building

Piers Morgan – Live

Tony Collins – Computer Weekly

James Inverne, Gramophone

Feature Writer
Jonathan Green – Live

Rachel Cooke – Observer Magazine

News Reporter
Lillian Anekwe – Pulse

Ryan Gilbey – New Statesman

Subbing Team
Radio Times