Double win at Motoring Writers Awards for Daily Mail man

The Daily Mail’s Transport Editor Ray Massey and author Karl Ludvigsen were big winners at this year’s Guild of Motoring Writers Awards.

Massey was awarded for his coverage of environmental and road safety issues in motoring and the motor industry, while Ludvigsen was recognised for his coverage of the history of motoring and motorcycling and automotive technology.

Do you ever use a voice assistant (Alexa, Siri etc.) to access news content?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

The ceremony was held at the RAC Club in London’s Pall Mall last Friday.

The full list of Guild of Motoring Writers award winners are as follows:

AA Environment Award

Winner: Ray Massey

Highly Commended: Richard Aucock

Aston Martin International Trophy

Winner: Karl Ludvigsen

Highly Commended: Alan Cathcart

Automotive PR Consumer Journalist of the Year

Winner: Richard Aucock

Highly Commended: Chris Thorp, Ray Massey

British Car Auctions Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: Giles Chapman

Highly Commended: Sarah Bradley

Cummins Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year

Winner: David Wilcox

Hyundai Photography Awards

Winner: James Lipman

IAM Safety Award in memory of Christopher Bullock

Winner: Ray Massey

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

Winner: Karl Ludvigsen

Highly Commended: Charles Armstrong-Wilson

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Winners: Karl Ludvigsen, Giles Chapman

Mitsubishi Motors Regional Motoring Journalist of the Year:

Winner: John Powell

Newspress New Media Award

Winner: Tim Pollard

Peugeot Award for the Rootes Gold Cup

Winner: Kim Adams

Renault UK Journalist of the Year

Winner: Alan Cathcart

Highly Commended: Ray Massey

Saab Young Writer of the Year

Winner: Ben Pulman

Skoda Design Award

Winner: Shane O’Donoghue

Pemberton Trophy (committee’s vote)

Winner: Tony Dron

Phil Llewellyn Award

Winner: Poppy Bullock

Sir William Lyons Award sponsored by Jaguar

Winner: Peter Adams

Rider of the Year (members’ vote)

Winner: Valentino Rossi

Driver of the Year (members’ vote)

Winner: Lewis Hamilton



Our free daily round-up of the biggest news about the world of news

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ten + 20 =