Daily Mail wins top prizes at Sports Journalism Awards - Press Gazette

Daily Mail wins top prizes at Sports Journalism Awards

The Daily Mail was the big winner at last night's Sports Journalists' Association Awards, winning newspaper and website of the year while its star columnist Martin Samuel was named sports writer of the year for the fifth time since 2005.

Mail columnist Jeff Powell was presented with the SJA’s Doug Gardner Award for services to sports journalism. Judges said he "displayed the ability to reinvent himself by dealing with the challenges of modern, multi-platform journalism. He has not stood still … He’s embraced different sports plus website journalism and gone for it."

The Telegraph's Henry Winter was named best specialist correspondent for the fourth time. Cumbrian Newspapers' Jon Colman received the regional sportswriter award for the third year running.

A Reuters photograph of Andy Murray becoming the first British man to win Wimbledon in 77 years was named sports news picture of the year.

The judges said Toby Melville's photo (shown above) was "a beautiful picture of a momentous event that everyone will remember".

There were two wins for Getty Images at least night's ceremony in London, which was attended by 300 guests and hosted by John Inverdale and Sybil Ruscoe.

Getty's Bryn Lennon was named sports photographer of the year and Laurence Griffiths won sports picture of the year for an image of an incident involving the Belgian footballer Jan Vertongen.

The judges said it "captured a vital incident in a closely contested match… this picture freezes the moment when Jan Vertongen tripped and fell and at the same time he pulled down the shorts of his opponent. The photographer caught this brilliantly – right camera, right lens and perfect timing."

The full list of winners is below and a gallery of some of the winning pictures can be found here.

SJA Sports Writer of the Year 2013
Martin Samuel – Daily Mail

SJA Sports Photographer of the Year 2013
Bryn Lennon – Getty Images

SJA Sports Newspaper of the Year 2013
Daily Mail

SJA Sports Broadcaster of the Year 2013 (voted for by SJA members)
Alison Mitchell (BBC)

SJA Doug Gardner Award for services to sports journalism
Jeff Powell

Laureus Sports Website of the Year                                        
Daily Mail
The Times – Highly Commended
The Guardian – Highly Commended

Ian Wooldridge Young Sports Writer                                                   
Jack Pitt-Brooke – The Independent
Rajvir Rai – Daily Mail – Highly Commended
Tim Wigmore – Freelance – Highly Commended

Sports News Reporter                                   
David Conn – The Guardian
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association – Highly Commended
Neil Ashton – Daily Mail – Highly Commended

Sports Scoop                                      
Mark Ogden – Telegraph Media Group
Holly Watt and Claire Newell – Telegraph Media Group – Highly Commended
Pete Pattisson – The Guardian – Highly Commended

Sports Feature Writer                                   
Matthew Syed – The Times
Don McRae – The Guardian – Highly Commended
Paul Hayward – Telegraph Media Group – Highly Commended
Matt Lawton – Daily Mail – Highly Commended

Sports News Picture
Toby Melville – Reuters
Andrew Boyers – Action Images – Highly Commended
Laurence Griffiths – Getty Images – Highly Commended

Specialist Sports Portfolio – the Phil Sheldon Trophy
Bryn Lennon – Getty Images
Toby Melville – Reuters
Andrew Redington – Getty Images

Sports Picture
Laurence Griffiths – Getty Images
Clive Rose – Getty Images – Highly Commended
John Sibley – Action Images – Highly Commended

Sports Portfolio
Lee Smith – Action Images
Mike Egerton – PA – Highly Commended
Dave Shopland – Daily Mail – Highly Commended

Specialist Correspondent                                            
Henry Winter – Telegraph Media Group
Neil Harman – The Times – Highly Commended
Mike Atherton – The Times – Highly Commended

Sports Columnist                              
Matthew Syed – The Times
Patrick  Collins – The Mail on Sunday – Highly Commended
Matt Dickinson – The Times -Highly Commended

Regional Writer  
Jon Colman – Cumbrian Newspapers
Mark Douglas – NCJ Media – Highly Commended
Mark Taylor – Cambridge News – Highly Commended

Ladbrokes Sports Betting Writer                                  
Greg Wood – The Guardian
Tim Dykes – Sports Wk – Highly Commended
Kevin Pullein – Racing Post – Highly Commended

Russel Herneman – Freelance
Kerber and  Black – Daily Mirror – Highly Commended
Nick Newman – The Sunday Times – Highly Commended

Television Sports Programme (voted for by SJA members)
Sports Life Stories (ITV)

Radio Sports Programme (voted for by SJA members)
My Sporting Life (TalkSport)

David Welch Student Sports Writer
Teddy Cutler (Oxford University)
Siobhan McCall (St Mary’s, Twickenham) – Highly Commended
Jacob Rabinowitz – (Oxford University)



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.