Watt Prize shortlist announced

Nominee: Toynbee

The shortlist has been announced for this year’s David Watt Prize for outstanding contributions to political journalism.

The shortlisted entries are:

“Don’t panic” by Bruce Ackerman, London Review of Books; “The Trouble with Saving the World” by Michael Elliott, Time magazine; “George W’s Bloody Folly” by Jonathan Freedland, The Guardian; “Democracy is Just a Mirage” by David Gardner, Financial Times; “When a Bridge is not a Bridge” by Michael Ignatieff, The New York Times; “A spectre over Central Europe” by Jonathan Ledgard, The Economist; “Media Manifesto” by John Lloyd, Prospect; “Inside the Mind of Tony Blair, War Leader” by Mary Ann Sieghart, The Times; “The American Way of Defence” by Philip Stephens, Financial Times; “Was it Worth it?” by Polly Toynbee, The Guardian.

The winner will be announced at a lunch on 12 June in London when BBC political editor Andrew Marr will be a guest speaker.

The prize, founded in 1988, commemorates David Watt, the former political editor of the Financial Times, who was widely regarded as one of the finest political commentators of his generation. Last year’s winner was FT journalist Philip Stephens.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *