Video feed from the Society of Editors conference (now live)

This year's Society of Editors conference takes from Sunday night to Tuesday morning at the Tower Hotel in London.

Watch the action live below from 10.30am on Monday (video provided courtesy of Silverstream TV and the Society of Editors). Full programme below.

10.30 am   Welcome

                  Jonathan Grun, President of the Society of Editors and Editor of the Press Association

11.00 am   Silence

11.05 am   Keynote address – speaker to be announced

11.50 am   Opening up the family courts
                  The Rt Hon Sir James Munby, President of the Family Division

12.30 pm   Responsible journalists deliver the news – not make it

Heather Brooke, Freedom of Information Campaigner
Shami Chakrabarti, Director, Liberty
Andrew Vallance, Air Vice-Marshall, Secretary, DPBAC
Christopher Graham, Information Commissioner

Chaired by Martin Stanford, News Presenter, Sky News

1.15 pm     Buffet reception and lunch in partnership with BBC News 

2.15 pm     The Police and the Media

Can the new “FBI” lead the way?

Keith Bristow, Director General of the National Crime Agency
Alex Marshall, Chief Executive Officer, College of Policing
Andrew Trotter, Chief Constable, British Transport Police, National Policing Lead for the Communication Advisory Group

Chaired by Dermot Murnaghan, News Presenter, Sky News

3.20 pm     The changing face of journalism 

Steve Auckland
David Dinsmore, Editor, The Sun
Peter Barron, Director of Communications and Public Affairs in Europe, Middle East and Africa, Google
Geraldine Allinson, Chairman, the KM Group
Simon Fox, Chief Executive, Trinity Mirror

Chaired by Raymond Snoddy, journalist, television presenter, author and media commentator

4.15 pm     Tea

4.30 pm     Society of Editors’ Lecture 

Lord (Michael) Grade of Yarmouth CBE
A former chairman of the BBC and ITV, Michael Grade is also a Press Complaints commissioner.

Chaired by Francesca Unsworth, Deputy Director of News and Current Affairs, BBC

5.25 pm     AGM

7.15 pm     Reception

7.45 pm     Gala Dinner (Black tie)

Those speaking at the Gala Dinner include President Jonathan Grun, Editor of the Press Association, David Price QC and president-elect Ian Murray, Editor, Southern Daily Echo. 

11.00 pm   Late bar

TUESDAY 12 November 2013

9.30 am  The way forward for IPSO

Stig Abell, Managing Editor, The Sun
John Witherow, Editor, The Times
Lord Hunt, Chairman, Press Complaints Commission
Paul Vickers, Chairman, Industry Implementation Group
John McLellan, Director, Scottish Newspaper Society

Chaired by Steve Hewlett, Presenter, BBC Radio 4’s The Media Show

11.30 am Conference close

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *