The Press Awards is open for entries

The Press Awards – the new event organised by the Newspaper Publishers Association and the Society of Editors to replace the British Press Awards – is now open for entries.

The closing date for entries is 24 January and the winners are due to be announced on 5 April at a new scaled-down “more exclusive gathering” at the Savoy Hotel in London.

Proceeds from the new event will go to the Society of Editors, with a proportion also going to the Journalists’ Charity. The judging process is being chaired by executive director of the Society of Editors Bob Satchwell.

Do you ever use a voice assistant (Alexa, Siri etc.) to access news content?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

There are 25 award categories along broadly similar lines to the old British Press Awards. There is no journalist of the year prize but there will be a new lifetime achievement award. The front page of the year category has been re-introduced.

The British Press Awards were run by Press Gazette for many years but the rights to hold the event were retained by Press Gazette’s former owner’s Wilmington following our sale to Progressive Media in April 2008. The British Press Awards was run by Wilmington last year. The new event came about after the the NPA decided it no longer wanted to work with Wilmington on the British Press Awards.

The new awards cost £126 to enter (£48 for freelances).



Our free daily round-up of the biggest news about the world of news

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

thirteen + 10 =