The British Press Awards - Press Gazette

The British Press Awards

The British Press Awards is the annual celebration of the very best
in journalism across the national press. Honouring the finest
journalists and newspapers in the land for more than 30 years, these
are the only awards voted for by their peers.

Updated this year
following wide consultation with the industry, judging will be a
two-stage process involving a judging forum, made up of 80 senior
journalists, and a smaller Grand Jury of senior executives representing
each of the national newspaper groups. Overseen by Chairman of the
Judges, Charles Wilson, the first stage will result in shortlists of
five entries for each category, and winners will be selected at the
second stage from these shortlists. The Supplement of the Year,
Cartoonist of the Year and Front Page of the Year categories will be
judged by independent panels of experts. For the first time, the 2006
Newspaper of the Year will be judged on an Academy-style voting system.
The judging forum of 80 senior staff journalists and 20 non-affiliated
senior media figures will vote to establish a shortlist and
subsequently decide a winner. You will find all the instructions and
entry requirements for each category in the PDF below.

Click here to download The British Press Awards PDF entry form



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.