Sunday Times leads nominations for Environmental Press Awards

The shortlists have been announced for this year’s Environmental Journalism Awards organised by Wilmington in association with Peugeot and Press Gazette.

Dan McDougall is shortlisted twice for his work with the Sunday Times – in the journalist of the year category and in story of the year for his investigation into a Gap clothing factory. And the Sunday Times leads the nominations overall with six shortlisted entries.

The top award of environmental journalist of the year carries a cash prize of £1,000.

Would you pay a Spotify-style subscription of £10 a month for access to most premium consumer news websites?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

The awards are judged by Paul Charman, head of journalism at the London College of Communications, Anita Syvret of Syvret Media, Justin Rowlatt from the BBC and Chris Shearlock from the Co-Op. The winners will be announced at a lunch being held at Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons restaurant on 25 November.

Environmental Journalism Awards 2009 full shortlist:

Environmental Journalist of the Year

Dan McDougall (The Sunday Times)

David Adam (The Guardian)

Fiona Harvey (The Financial Times)

John Paul Flintoff (The Sunday Times Magazine)

Richard Girling (The Sunday Times Magazine)

Environmental Story of the Year

Dan McDougall (The Sunday Times) – Gap Factory is Danger to Children

Fiona Harvey (The Financial Times) – Can You Dig It?

Jonathan Green (Live Magazine – The Mail on Sunday) – The Habit That’s Costing the Earth

Richard Girling (The Sunday Times Magazine) – Plight of the Bumble Bee

Campaign of the Year

News of the World – Go Green

Richard Girling, The Sunday Times – Green Manifesto

Sue Kemp, the Express and Echo – Green Teams

Judges’ Award

Damian Carrington – Guardian News & Media

Incisive Media –

Peter Charlton – Yorkshire Post



Our free daily round-up of the biggest news about the world of news

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − 9 =