Sunday Mail named newspaper of the year at the Scottish Press Awards - Press Gazette

Sunday Mail named newspaper of the year at the Scottish Press Awards

The Sunday Mail was last night named newspaper of the year at the Scottish Press Awards.

The paper and its sister title the Daily Record won five awards between them at the Glasgow ceremony.

Meanwhile, the Sunday Herald’s Paul Hutcheon was named journalist of the year and Chris Williams, the former Scottish Daily Mail editor, was awarded a lifetime achievement prize.

Here is the full list of winners:

Sports photographer of the year: Ian MacNicol

News photographer of the year: Alan Simpson

Cartoonist of the year: Brian Adcock, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Young journalist of the year: Anthony Joseph, Evening Express

Weekly newspaper of the year: Ayrshire Post

Arts/entertainment journalist of the year: Aidan Smith, The Scotsman

Interviewer of the year: Patricia Kane, Scottish Mail on Sunday

Political journalist of the year: Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald

Columnist of the year: Bill Leckie, The Scottish Sun

Financial/business journalist of the year: Ryan Crighton, The Press & Journal

Feature writer of the year: David Pratt, The Herald and Sunday Herald

Sports feature writer of the year: Tom English, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Sports news writer of the year: Keith Jackson, Daily Record

Innovation of the year: The Scotsman Rugby Show

Front page of the year: The Scottish Sun, Nats Unveil Vision for a Free Scotland

Journalism team of the year: The Scottish Sun, Clutha

Campaign of the year: Daily Record, Stop the Danger Dogs

Scoop of the year: Russell Findlay and Billy Briggs, Sunday Mail

Reporter of the year: Lauren Crooks, Sunday Mail

Lifetime achievement award: Chris Williams

Journalist of the year: Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald

Newspaper of the Year: Sunday Mail



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.