Sporting chance for BSJA shortlist hopefuls - Press Gazette

Sporting chance for BSJA shortlist hopefuls

By James Batty

The shortlist for the British Sports Journalism Awards has been unveiled.

Martin Samuel has received a double nomination in the sports
Columnist of the Year category for his work on The Times and the News
of the World.

The awards, organised by the Sports Journalists’
Association of Great Britain and supported by UK Sport, will be held on
Monday at the Radisson Hotel, London.

The full shortlist: Sports
Columnist of the Year: Martin Samuel (The Times); Patrick Collins (Mail
on Sunday); Hugh McIlvanney (Sunday Times); Patrick Barclay (Sunday
Telegraph); Richard Williams (The Guardian); and Martin Samuel (News of
the World).

Olympic Writer: Richard Williams (Guardian); Simon
Barnes ( The Times ); Ian Chadband (Evening Standard); Paul Hayward
(Daily Telegraph); Duncan Mackay (Guardian); and Sue Mott (Daily
Telegraph) Sports News Reporter: Mihir Bose (Daily Telegraph); David
Conn (Independent); Malcolm Folley (Mail on Sunday); Paul Kelso (The
Guardian); Darren Lewis (Daily Mirror); Charles Sale (Daily Mail).

Feature Writer: Patrick Collins ( Mail on Sunday ); Matthew Engel
(Financial Times); Andrew Longmore (Sunday Times); Donald McRae (The
Guardian); David Walsh (Sunday Times); and Richard Williams ( The
Guardian ).

Specialist Correspondent: Matt Dickinson (The Times);
Alastair Down (Racing Post); Rob Draper (Mail on Sunday); Derek
Lawrenson (Daily Mail); Dave Maddock (Daily Mirror); and Henry Winter
(Daily Telegraph).

Sports Interviewer: Clare Balding (Observer);
Alison Kervin (Sunday Times); Paul Kimmage (Sunday Times); Donald McRae
(Guardian); and Sue Mott (Daily Telegraph).

Sports Diarist: Steve
Anglesey (Daily Mirror); Alan Hubbard (Independent on Sunday); Ashling
O’Connor (The Times); and Charles Sale ( Daily Mail).

Story: Matthew Bayley (Daily Mail) for the Sean Long Rugby League
betting scandal; Harry Harris (Daily Express) for the Malcolm Glazer
takeover of Manchester United; Duncan MacKay (Observer), first to
expose the Greek athletics drug cheats; Jeff Powell (Daily Mail) for
the Clive Woodward resignation scoop; and Paul Smith (Sunday Mirror)
for revealing Wayne Rooney’s transfer.

Sports Team: Daily
Telegraph (Euro 2004); Sunday Times (Olympics); The Times (Clay/Liston
40th anniversary supplement); and The Times (Ayrton Senna tenth
anniversary supplement).

Regional sports journalist: John Gibson
(The Chronicle, Newcastle); Danny Hall ( Western Daily Press); David
Prior (Daily Post, Liverpool); Phil Rostron (Yorkshire Evening Post);
and Jeremy Wilson (Southern Daily Echo).