Shortlists announced for Scottish Press Awards

Scottish Daily Newspaper Society has announced the shortlist of
nominees for the Scottish Press Awards out of more than 400 entries.

The awards are to be held at the Glasgow Radisson SAS Hotel on 21 April.

of the judges Charles Wilson, former editor of The Times and The
Independent, said: “2005 marks the 26th year of the Scottish Press
Awards, which continue to reward excellence and professionalism in
Scottish journalism.

It is no surprise that the standard of finalists’ work remains extremely high.”

The event will be hosted by ITV Scotland Today presenter Sarah Heaney.

Newspaper of the Year and Journalist of the Year shortlists will be announced on the night.

other shortlisted entries follow: Scoop of the Year: Team at The
Herald, The Herald; Tom Gordon & Andrew Collier, The Herald; James
Moncur, Daily Record; Michael Christie, Daily Record.

Reporter of
the Year: Annie Brown, Daily Record; Camillo Fracassini, The Sunday
Times; Brian Lironi, Sunday Mail; Marion Scott, Sunday Mail.

Writer of the Year: Robert Ballantyne, The Sunday Times; Ian McConnell,
The Herald; Terry Murden, Scotland on Sunday; Ken Symon, Sunday Herald.

Writer of the Year: Vicky Allan, Sunday Herald; Allan Brown, The Sunday
Times; Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday; Michael Tierney, The

Columnist of the Year: Ian Bell, Sunday Herald; Tam
Cowan, Daily Record; Chris Deerin, Scotland on Sunday; Fraser Nelson,
The Scotsman.

Campaign of the Year: Martin Biddle, Greenock
Telegraph; Gethin Chamberlain, The Scotsman; David Leask, Evening
Times; Natasha Weale, Sunday Mail.

Front Page of the Year: Scottish Daily Mail; The Scottish Sun; Scottish Daily Mirror; Daily Record.

Team of the Year: Daily Record led by Cara Page; The Herald; Daily
Record led by Janice Burns; Scottish Daily Mail; Sunday Mail.

Newspaper Journalist of the Year: Eitan Grant, the Paisley Gazette;
Jill Buchanan, The Falkirk Herald; Robert Mitchell, Airdrie &
Coatbridge Advertiser; Willie Morrison, North Star and Highland News;
Donald Wilson, The Inverness Courier.

Political Journalist of the
Year: Jason Allardyce, The Sunday Times; Kenny Farquharson, The Sunday
Times; Douglas Fraser, Sunday Herald; Lindsay McGarvie, Sunday Mail;
Paul Sinclair, Daily Record.

Sports Feature Writer of the Year:
Douglas Alexander, The Sunday Times; Simon Buckland, The Sunday Times;
Glen Gibbons, The Scotsman; Graham Spiers, The Herald.

News Writer of the Year: Doug Gillon, The Herald; Martin Hannan,
Scotland on Sunday; Keith Jackson, Daily Record; Bill Leckie, The
Scottish Sun.

Arts/Entertainment Writer of the Year: Anna
Burnside, The Sunday Times; Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday;
Teddy Jamieson, The Herald Magazine; Peter Ross, Sunday Herald; Billy
Sloan, Sunday Mail.

Cartoonist of the Year: Brian Adock, Scotland
on Sunday; Steven Camley, The Herald; Ranald MacColl, Scottish Daily
Mirror; Bill McArthur, The Herald.

Young Journalist of the Year:
Jenifer Johnston, Sunday Herald; Jacqueline McGhie, News of the World;
Himaya Quasem, Sunday Mail; Anna Smyth, The Scotsman.

Journalist of the Year/ Sgriobhadh Gaidhlig: Aonghas P Caimbeul, The
Scotsman; Alasdair Macaelein, The Scotsman; Raghnall Macilledhuibh, The
Scotsman; Murchadh MacLeoid, Scotland on Sunday.

Photographer of the Year: Donald MacLeod, The Scotsman/ Scotland on
Sunday; Lloyd Smith, The Herald; Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman; Phil
Wilkinson, Scotland on Sunday.

Sports Photographer of the Year:
Tom Main, News of the World/ The Sunday Times and The Daily Telegraph;
Colin Mearns, The Herald; Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman; Stuart Wallace,
The Sunday Times.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *