Scottish Press Awards: The full list of nominations - Press Gazette

Scottish Press Awards: The full list of nominations

Scoop of the year
Lucy Adams – The Herald – “Megrahi Wife’s Plea: set my husband free to die”
Graham Grant – Scottish Daily Mail – “The Ultimate Big Brother”
Gerri Peev – The Scotsman – “Hillary’s a Monster”
Jane Simpson – Daily Mail – “Couple to loose family for being too fat”
Donna Watson – Daily Record – “Referee Rev’s Romps with Sunday School Miss”
Caroline Wilson – Evening Times – “Councillor Kalashnikov”

Reporter of the year
Lucy Adams – The Herald
Derek Alexander – Sunday Mail
Charles Lavery – Sunday Mail
Brian Lewis – The Scottish Sun
David Pratt – Sunday Herald

Financial/business journalist of the year
Simon Bain – The Herald
Bill Jamieson – The Scotsman
Will Lyons – Scotland on Sunday
Peter MacMahon – The Scotsman
John Penman – The Sunday Times Scotland

Newspaper feature writer of the year
Jonathan Brocklebank – Scottish Daily Mail
Allan Brown – Sunday Times
Anna Burnside – Sunday Times
Gavin Madeley – Scottish Daily Mail
Peter Ross – Scotland on Sunday

Magazine writer of the year
Vicky Allan – Sunday Herald
Adam Forrest – Big Issue
David Pratt – Sunday Herald
Peter Ross – Scotland on Sunday

Columnist of the year
Bill Jamieson – The Scotsman
George Kerevan – The Scotsman
Hardeep Singh Kohli – Scotland on Sunday
Bill Leckie – The Scottish Sun
Joan McAlpine – The Sunday Times Scotland

Campaign of the year
The Big Issue – “Time to make bills add up”
The Scotsman – “HBOS questions that must be answered”
Sunday Mail – “Free our hero dad”
Edinburgh Evening News – “School Lunches”
Evening Times – “Factors – fighting for a fairer deal”

Front page of the year
Daily Record – “Monster”
Scotland on Sunday – “Scotland over a barrel”
The Scottish Sun – “Beaten and Battered”
Evening Express – “We will never forget”
The Sunday Mail – “The greatest”

Journalist team of the year
Daily Record – “Tobin: the monster”
Scottish Daily Mail – “Did he kill 15 other girls?”
The Scottish Sun – “Beaten and battered”
Scottish Mail on Sunday – “Kenny Richey: my story”
Dumbarton Reporter – “Killer at the Vale”

Weekly newspaper of the year
Falkirk Herald
Kilmarnock Standard
Ayrshire Post
Wishaw Press
West Highland Free Press

Political journalist of the year
Eddie Barnes -Scotland on Sunday
Paul Hutcheon – Sunday Herald
Hamish MacDonnell – The Scotsman
Andrew Nicoll – The Scottish Sun
Gerri Peev – The Scotsman

Sports feature writer of the year
Douglas Alexander – The Sunday Times Scotland
Tom English – Scotland on Sunday
Douglas Findlay Gillon – The Herald
Martin Greig – The Herald
Brian Marjoribanks – Scottish Daily Mail

Sports news writer of the year
Douglas Findlay Gillon – The Herald
Robert Grieve – The Scottish Sun
Keith Jackson – Daily Record
Iain King – The Scottish Sun
Bill Leckie – The Scottish Sun

Arts/entertainment journalist of the year
Matt Bendoris – The Scottish Sun
Allan Brown – The Sunday Times Scotland
Anna Burnside – The Sunday Times Scotland
Beverly Lyons – Daily Record
David Robinson – The Scotsman

Cartoonist of the year
Steven Camley – The Herald
Scott Clissold – Freelance
Bill McArthur – The Herald
Nick Newman – The Sunday Times Scotland
Brian Petrie – The Scottish Sun

Young journalist of the year
Mike Farrell – Dumbarton and Vale of Leven Reporter
Fiona Gray – Scotland on Sunday
Stuart Macdonald – The Sunday Times Scotland
Helen McArdle – Sunday Herald
Brendan Perring – The Sunday Times Scotland

Gaelic journalist of the year
Aonghas Caimbeul – West Highland Free Press
Alasdair H Caimbeul – The Scotsman
Joy Dunlop – An Gàidheal Ùr
Niall O’Gallagher – BBC Alba
Andreas Wolff – Scottish Catholic Observer

News photographer of the year
Colin Mearns – The Herald
George Munro – Greenock Telegraph
Tony Nicoletti – Daily Record
Phil Wilkinson – Scotland on Sunday

Sports photographer of the year
Jane Barlow – The Scotsman
David Henderson – The Scottish Sun
Peter Kelly – The Scottish Sun
Alasdair Macleod – Sunday Mail
Thomas Main – Freelance

Multimedia journalist of the year
Iain Hepburn – Daily Record
Beverley Lyons – Daily Record
David Maddox – The Scotsman