Reuters names its 2008 journalists of the year - Press Gazette

Reuters names its 2008 journalists of the year

The worldwide press agency Reuters has announced the winners of the 2008 Journalist of the Year Awards in a ceremony at its Times Square headquarters in New York.

The awards celebrated exceptional work by Reuters journalists, with 10 awards open to all of the agency’s 2,500-plus editorial staff.

The Editor’s Choice award, picked by the editor-in-chief, was handed to Mike Stepanovich, senior vice president and head of global business development.

David Schlesinger, editor-in-chief of Reuters, said: “Reuters needs to focus on innovation if we’re going to win in this competitive and crowded marketplace for news and information.

“Stepanovich has shown how to bring actionable and incisive financial information ot life in a compelling way.”

Full list of winners



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.