Regional Press Awards - the first shortlists - Press Gazette

Regional Press Awards - the first shortlists

Judges met this week to decide the winners of Press Gazette’s Regional Press Awards 2001.

More than 700 entries have been received and the initial judging process has produced the shortlists printed below.

The Newspaper of the Year, along with the other newspaper and team categories, were decided by a panel of judges who met at the Press Association headquarters in London. Separate panels picked the winners in each of the individual categories.

National Savings has announced its sponsorship of the four newspaper categories – evening, weekly, free and daily/Sunday – as well as Financial Journalist of the Year. Newscast is sponsoring Photographer of the Year.

The full shortlists are:

Website of the Year: Thisisbradford; totallyjewish; EDP24; Shropshirestar; businessam; Thisishullsport.

Specialist Reporter of the Year: Andy Greenwood, Western Morning News (environment); Lisa Baxter, Evening Star, Ipswich (crime); Vicki Shaw, Yorkshire Evening Post (health); Michael Howard, The Sentinel, Stoke on Trent (city council); Louise Douglas, Liverpool Daily Post & Echo (health); James Ruddy, Eastern Daily Press (foreign).

Business Reporter of the Year: Bill Gleeson, Liverpool Daily Post; Stephen Houghton, The Sentinel, Stoke on Trent; Jane Charnley, Yorkshire Post; Peter Jeffrey, Evening Chronicle, Newcastle; Jason Clark, Western Morning News; Emma Corlett, Manchester Evening News.

Financial Reporter of the Year: Jane Hall, Newcastle Journal; Ros Snowdon, Yorkshire Post; Peter Sharples, Manchester Evening News; James Stinson, Irish News; Harry Day, Eastern Daily Press; Joanne Gill, Yorkshire Post.

Young Journalist of the Year: Bryony Jones, The News, Portsmouth; Nick Ahad, Swindon Evening Advertiser; Martin Breen, Belfast Telegraph; Kate Mills, Northampton Chronicle & Echo; David Stringer, Derby Evening Telegraph; Sally Hall, The Argus, Brighton.

Sports Reporter of the Year: John Gibson, Evening Chronicle, Newcastle; Alan Davidson, Glasgow Evening Times; Matthew Reeder, Swindon Evening Advertiser; Phil Rostron, Yorkshire Evening Post; Mark Storey, The News, Portsmouth; Martin Smith, Sheffield Star.

Scoop of the Year: Steve Lowe, Bedfordshire on Sunday, Death Room; Mike Hill, Liverpool Echo, Body Parts Scandal; David Winning, Eastern Daily Press, Tony Martin’s Torment; Don Hale, Matlock Mercury, Bakewell Murder Investigation; Allan Caldwell, Evening Times, MP’s Daughter Sold Drugs; Paul Jeeves, Northampton Chronicle & Echo, £8m Bill for Refugees.

Reporter of the Year: Phil Mills, Evening Argus, Brighton; Dave Blackhurst, Staffordshire Sentinel; Lisa Mundy, The Yellow Advertiser; Jon Lockett, Bristol Evening Post; Claire Graham, Derby Evening Telegraph; Ian Drury, Nottingham Evening Post.

Columnist of the Year: Martin Freeman, Evening Herald, Plymouth; Norman Harper, Press and Journal, Aberdeen; Anne Pickles, Yorkshire Evening Post; Peter Bossley, Sentinel Sunday, Stoke on Trent; Robert Mills, Yorkshire Post; Gail Walker, Belfast Telegraph.

Feature Writer of the Year: Chris Maguire, Bristol Evening Post; Sarah Hughes, Manchester Evening News; Carmen Lichi, Hampstead & Highgate Express; Angela Wintle, The Argus, Brighton; Jon Rhodes, Yorkshire Evening Post; Madeleine Brindley, Nottingham Evening Post.

ITN political editor John Sergeant will present the awards at a lunch on Friday, 6 July, at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane, London. For table bookings, please contact Nicky Lusignani on 020 8565 4463.

By Philippa Kennedy