Randall wins top business gong - Press Gazette

Randall wins top business gong

BBC business editor Jeff Randall came away with the top honours at this year’s Business Journalist of the Year Awards.

He scooped the Decade of Excellence Award for his services to journalism and, with producer Martin Small, took the prize for best broadcast submission for “Big Mac under attack” for the BBC’s Money Programme.

Randall joined the BBC after 20 years as a newspaper journalist, including the editorship of Sunday Business. One of his many scoops was an interview with Rupert Murdoch on the day his son was appointed chief executive of Sky Television – the first interview Murdoch had given the BBC for 20 years.

Randall said: “I have spent a long time in papers and had no idea I could work in broadcast. It just goes to show you can make the leap. It is satisfying that the peers you admire recognise your work.”

Business Week’s Catherine Arnst won the overall award for business journalist of the year for her story on breakthroughs in the field of memory loss.

Arnst said: “It is a real honour. I was surprised to win the overall award – I thought it would go to a more financial or business-related story. My story was of worldwide importance; not only did it go into the business implications but also what it meant to the individual.” Arnst’s story was also judged best health submission.

The judges said: “The article turned a complex pharmacological story into a highly readable and entertaining analysis of a problem that many of us will one day face.”

Nicholas Stein of Fortune won the award for best insurance submission, for his story on the largest insurance-fraud ring in US history, and for the best fast-moving consumer goods submission for his article on the international coffee industry.

Stein said: “I try to call attention to important issues. My story on the global coffee crisis was intended to expose people to the difficult and unnecessary conditions facing coffee farmers.”

The Financial Times and Fortune were the most successful titles, each winning three of the 16 awards.

Hosted by former ITN political editor John Sergeant, the awards attracted nearly 1,000 entries.

The full list of winners is as follows: The World Leadership Forum Award for the Best Broadcast Submission: Jeff Randall and Martin Small for the BBC’s Money Programme – “Big Mac under attack”.

The World Leadership Forum Award for the Best Energy Submission: Chrystia Freeland, Financial Times Magazine – the Khodorkovsky interview.

The World Leadership Forum Award for the Best Retail Submission: Kate Rankine, The Daily Telegraph – “The emperor strikes back”.

The Standard Chartered Award for the Best Banking Submission: Richard Morais, Forbes Global – “Brisk and brusque”.

The IFS Award for the Best Corporate Finance Submission: Richard Waters and John Gapper, Financial Times – “Feeling plucky”.

The LCCI Award for the Best Entertainment and Leisure Submission: Nina Munk, Vanity Fair – “Steve Case’s last stand”.

The British American Tobacco Award for the Best Fast Moving Consumer Goods Submission: Nicholas Stein, Fortune – “Crisis in a coffee cup”.

The Eli Lilly Award for the Best Health Submission: Catherine Arnst, Business Week – “I can’t remember”.

The Marsh Award for the Best Insurance Submission: Nicholas Stein, Fortune – “Inside operation Boris”.

The Samsung Award for the Best Information Technology Submission: Robyn Meredith, Forbes Global – “Microsoft’s Long march”.

The CBI Award for the Best Manufacturing Submission: Dan Roberts and James Kynge, Financial Times – “Creating a new workshop of the world”.

The Standard Life Award for the Best Personal Finance Submission: James Daley, The Sunday Telegraph – “Long-term care: can you trust the advisers?”.

The BCC Award for the Best Service Industry Submission: Oliver Morgan, The Observer – “Turbulent times for Airbus chief and his star”.

The O2 Award for the Best Telecommunications Submission:Mark Gimein, Fortune – “What did Joe know?”.

The Corporation of London Business Journalist of the Year Award (overall winner): Catherine Arnst, Business Week – “I can’t remember”.

The Accenture Decade of Excellence Award: Jeff Randall, BBC.