PTC publishes shortlists for New Journalist Awards

The shortlists for the 2003 Periodicals Training Council New Journalist of the Year Awards have been released.

The awards recognise up and coming journalists in the magazine industry with less than three years’ experience. The winners will be announced at a lunch at the Millennium Mayfair, London, on 14 November.

New business weekly journalist: Kate Allen, Building; Ellen Bennett, Housing Today; Mark Beveridge, Housing Today; Zoe Blackler, Architects’ Journal; Thomas Lane, Building; Mark Leftly, Building; Stuart MacDonald, Housing Today; Sean McAllister; The Grocer; Tristan McConnell, Property Week; Matthew Richards, Building; Helen Thomas, Property Week.

New business monthly journalist: Tom Berry, Financial Director; Emma De Vita, Management Today; Caroline Thomas, IR Magazine.

New consumer general weekly journalist: Jeff Chu, Time; Daisy Price, Woman’s Own; Terri White, Now.

New consumer general monthly journalist: Suzy Cox, 19; Marie-Claire Dorking, Company; Lizzi Hosking, New Woman; Sarah Morgan, Bliss; Charlotte Northedge, Cosmopolitan; Ruth Tierney, Prima.

New consumer specialist/customer magazine journalist: Tom Bailey, T3; Edward Craig, Golf Monthly; Lucy Dimbylow, Pregnancy and Birth; Ben Miller, Bike; Piers Pickard, Trail; James Randerson, New Scientist; Angelique Ruzicka, Moneywise; Lisa Steele, Ride; Dan Uglow, Motor Caravan; Adam Vaughan, T3.

New magazine designer: Andrew Mook, Bike; Nathaniel Potter, Lexus Magazine; Amanda Rigby, Practical Photography/Digital Photo, Joanna Usher, Bliss.

New online journalist: Olivia Cooper,; Clare Jerrom, www.; Helen Pilcher,; Amy Taylor, www.

Most promising student journalist: Abigail Dennison, Bournemouth University; Fred Dutton, Cardiff University; Francis Field, Bournemouth University; Amy Lindsay, Cardiff University; Lisa Murch, City University; Ellen Otzen, Goldsmiths College; Anna Ridout, Cardiff University; Mark Wilson, Harlow College.

By Ruth Addicott

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *