NoW in running

Serious newspapers dominate the shortlist for the British Press Awards Newspaper of the Year — but the News of the World is still in the running to defend the title it won last year.

With the first stage of judging over, panels convene this week to decide the winners who will be announced on Monday 20 March at the Dorchester Hotel in Park Lane.

The full shortlists are:

■ Newspaper of the Year: The Guardian; The Independent; News of the World; The Observer; The Times

■ Supplement of the Year: The Observer Food Monthly; The Times magazine; Culture, Sunday Times; How to Spend It, Financial Times; Celeb, Sunday Mirror

■ Photographer of the Year: Martin Argles, The Guardian; Charlie Bibby, Financial Times; Brian Griffin, Sunday Times Magazine; Sean Smith, The Guardian; Edmond Terakopian, freelance

■ Sports Photographer of the Year:David Ashdown, The Independent; Marc Aspland, The Times; Tom Jenkins, The Guardian; Colin Mearns, The Herald; Hugh Routledge, Sunday Times

■ Cartoonist of the Year: Peter Brookes, The Times; Dave Brown, The Independent, Nick Newman, Sunday Times; Ingram Pinn, Financial Times; Gerald Scarfe, Sunday Times

■ Front Page of the Year: "Cocaine Kate", Daily Mirror; "Best On His Deathbed", News of the World; "The Final Farewell" (Pope John Paul II), The Observer; "Harry The Nazi", The Sun; "7/7", The Times

■ Specialist Writer of the Year: Steve Connor, The Independent; John Cornwell, Sunday Times; Richard Girling, Sunday Times; Tom Newton Dunn, The Sun; Michael Smith, Sunday Times

■ Business & Finance Journalist of the Year: John Gapper, Financial Times; Ian Griffiths, The Guardian; Michael Harrison, The Independent: Hamish

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *