North East's finest praised at awards

By Dominic Ponsford

The Newcastle-based Evening Chronicle was named Newspaper of the
Year at the 24th North East Press Awards on 14 May. Judges praised
staff for “professional teamwork of the first order” and “allround
consistency and vitality”.

They added: “The content and presentation are vibrant and aggressive in a positive sense.

is a paper that spots talent and cultivates it across the different
disciplines of journalism. Its young journalist material was
particularly strong.”

It is the fourth time the Evening Chronicle
has won the title since the award was introduced in 1990, a record
matched only by the Northern Echo.

Northern Echo staff achieved the highest number of individual awards on the night.

Pratt of The Journal in Newcastle became the first winner of the new
Tony Dumphy Trophy for front- or back-page layout and design.

award was named after the Evening Gazette head of editorial production
who died after a short illness last year only months after winning the
category himself for the third time.

The awards were presented by ITN journalist Nicholas Owen who began his career in the North East.

full list of winners were: North East Newspaper of the Year: Evening
Chronicle Graham Stanton Award for Outstanding Contribution to
Journalism: Mike Amos, Northern Echo North East Journalist of the Year:
Sam Strangeways, Northern Echo Tom Cordner Quill for Trainee Journalist
of the Year: Louise Redvers, Evening Chronicle North East Weekly
Newspaper of the Year: Teesdale Mercury North East Weekly Newspaper
Journalist of the Year: David Sedgwick, News Guardian North East
Magazine of the Year: A Love Supreme Consumer Affairs Prize: Andrew
Thurlbeck, Sunderland Echo North East Business Prize: Gayle Tomlinson,
Evening Chronicle North East Health Prize: Barry Nelson, Northern Echo
Thomas E Bergman Prize for arts reporting: Coreena Ford, Sunday Sun
North East Women’s Writer of the Year: Christen Pears, Northern Echo
Steve Jones Prize for reporting that contributes to the community: John
Howe, Sunderland Echo Jeremy Bennington Prize for Scoop of the Year:
Lindsay Jennings, Northern Echo Kate Adie Award for initiative in
journalism: Gayle Tomlinson, Evening Chronicle ABC Spike for overall
newspaper page design: Les Oliver, Sunderland Echo Splash Award for
front/ back-page design & the Tony Dumphy trophy: Graham Pratt, The
Journal Fred Hurrell Prize for the best features writing: Mike Amos,
Northern Echo Maurice Brady Award for hard news reporting: Sam
Strangeways, Northern Echo Durhams Sporting Plate – Sports Writer of
the Year: Mike Amos, Northern Echo Ian Weir Memorial Award – North East
Picture of the Year: Dave Charnley, Evening Gazette Jim Merrington
Prize – Best portfolio of pictures: Owen Humphreys, Press Association
Eric Dobson Scroll for North East trainee with highest marks in the
NCTJ examination: Bethany Usher, Sunderland Echo.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *