Nick Clegg nominated for two Radio Academy awards for LBC phone-in show - Press Gazette

Nick Clegg nominated for two Radio Academy awards for LBC phone-in show

National commercial speech radio station LBC has secured its highest-ever number of nominations in this year's Radio Academy awards, including two nominations for a phone-in hosted by the deputy prime minister.

Nick Clegg's weekly show, Call Clegg, is nominated for best speech programme and best news and current affairs programme.

LBC – with nine nominations – is shortlisted for station of the year (1 million plus audience area) alongside BBC Radio Ulster and Metro Radio in Newcastle. TalkSport has two nominations and is up against BBC Radio 2 and Radio 4 for UK station of the year.

The BBC has secured almost two-thirds of the nominations for this year's Radio Academy Awards. Its broad range of programming makes up 78 of the 119 nominations, with the corporation dominating the speech broadcaster and feature/documentary categories.

The awards, now in their 32nd year, will be held in London on 12 May.

The full nominations list:

:: Breakfast Show of the Year (10 million plus)
5 live Breakfast (BBC Radio 5 live)
KISS Breakfast with Rickie, Melvin & Charlie (KISS)
Nick Ferrari at Breakfast (LBC 97.3)
The Breakfast Show with Penny Smith & Paul Ross (BBC London 94.9FM)
The Capital Breakfast Show with Dave Berry & Lisa Snowdon (95.8 Capital FM)

:: Breakfast Show of the Year (under 10 million)
Boogie in the Morning (Forth One)
Good Morning Ulster (BBC Radio Ulster)
Hirsty's Daily Dose – Capital Breakfast (Capital Yorkshire)
Iain Lee (BBC Three Counties Radio)
Sam & Amy (Gem 106)

:: Best Music Programme
Alex James's Magical Musical Tour (Classic FM)
Jamie Cullum (BBC Radio 2)
John Suchet (Classic FM)
The People's Songs (BBC Radio 2)
The XFM Evening Show with Danielle Perry (XFM)

:: Best Specialist Music Programme
David Rodigan (BBC Radio 1Xtra)
Mistajam (BBC Radio 1Xtra)
The Beatdown on XFM with Scroobius Pip (XFM)
The Folk Show with Mark Radcliffe (BBC Radio 2)
Zane Lowe (BBC Radio 1)

:: Best Entertainment Programme
Alex James's Magical Musical Tour (Classic FM)
Greg James (BBC Radio 1)
Rob Howard (Capital North East)
The 12 O'Clock Show (BBC Radio Bristol)
The Dermot O'Leary Show (BBC Radio 2)

:: Best Speech Programme
Call Clegg (LBC 97.3)
Short Cuts (BBC Radio 4)
The Digital Human – (BBC Radio 4)
The Frank Skinner Show (Absolute Radio)
The Reunion (BBC Radio 4)

:: Best Sports Programme
5 live Sport (BBC Radio 5 live)
Gerr'um On Side (102.4 Wish FM/107.2 Wire FM)
The Day We Won Wimbledon (BBC Radio 5 live)
The Team That Never Was (BBC Radio Oxford)
World Football (BBC World Service)

:: Best News & Current Affairs Programme
Asian Network Reports (BBC Asian Network)
Call Clegg (LBC 97.3)
PM (BBC Radio 4)
The World at One (BBC Radio 4)
Victoria Derbyshire (BBC Radio 5 live)

:: Best Coverage of a Live Event
Capital's Jingle Bell Ball (Capital FM)
Great North Run 2013 (Metro Radio)
Live@Wimbledon Radio (Live@Wimbledon Radio)
The Dambusters – 70 Years On (BBC Radio 2)
The Death of Nelson Mandela (BBC World Service)

:: Best Community Programming
Free Radio Walk for Kids (Free Radio)
Knives Wreck Lives (107.6 Juice FM)
Pete's Pensioner Party (BBC WM 95.6)
Slavery on our Streets ( LBC 97.3)
The Joy of Reading (BBC Radio Oxford)

:: Music Radio Personality of the Year
Chris Evans (BBC Radio 2)
Christian O'Connell (Absolute Radio)
Graham Norton (BBC Radio 2)
Radcliffe & Maconie (BBC Radio 6 Music)
Sam & Amy (Gem 106)

:: Music Radio Broadcaster of the Year
Guy Garvey (BBC Radio 6 Music)
Mary Anne Hobbs (BBC Radio 6 Music)
Scroobius Pip (XFM)
Tom Service (BBC Radio 3)
Zane Lowe (BBC Radio 1)

:: Speech Radio Personality of the Year
Alan Robson (Metro Radio/TFM)
Danny Baker (BBC Radio 5 live)
Johnny Vaughan (talkSPORT)
Nick Ferrari (LBC 97.3)
Phin Adams (CAMFM)

:: Speech Radio Broadcaster of the Year
Jane Garvey (BBC Radio 4)
Justin Webb (BBC Radio 4)
Melvyn Bragg (BBC Radio 4)
Rony Robinson (BBC Radio Sheffield)
Victoria Derbyshire (BBC Radio 5 live)

:: National Radio Journalist of the Year
Becky Milligan (BBC Radio 4)
Declan Harvey (BBC Radio 1/1Xtra)
Ian Pannell (BBC Radio 4/BBC World Service)
Jon Manel (BBC Radio 4)
Tom Swarbrick (LBC 97.3)

:: Local Radio Journalist of the Year
BBC Radio Norfolk News Team (BBC Radio Norfolk)
Heart North West and Wales News Team (Heart North West and Wales)
Jo Taylor (BBC Radio Cambridgeshire)
Radio City & City Talk News Team (Radio City/City Talk)
The Nolan Show Team (BBC Radio Ulster)

:: Best Interview of the Year
Becky Milligan interviews the wife of a child sex offender (BBC Radio 4)
Iain Dale interviews James in Woolwich (LBC 97.3)
Iain Lee interviews Stephen Conroy (BBC Three Counties Radio)
Stephen Sackur interviews Pavel Khodorkovsky (BBC World Service)
Winifred Robinson interviews Ralph Bulger (BBC Radio 4)

:: Best Music Feature or Documentary
Adam Buxton on David Bowie (BBC Radio 6 Music)
Soul Music: Strange Fruit (BBC Radio 4)
The Dambusters – 70 Years On (BBC Radio 2)
The Sash My Father Wore (BBC Radio Ulster)
Who Sold The Soul (BBC Radio 4)

:: Best News Feature or Documentary
Assignment: The Man Who Fell to Earth (BBC World Service)
Crossroads: The Girls (BBC Radio 1)
Slavery on our Streets (LBC 97.3)
Tempted by Teacher (BBC Radio 1)
The Assassination of JFK: Minute by Minute (BBC Radio 2)

:: Best Feature or Documentary
A Different Kind of Justice (BBC Radio 4)
Advice from the Edge of Life (BBC Radio Scotland)
Between the Ears: Mighty Beast (BBC Radio 3)
Johnny Cash and the Forgotten Prison Blues (BBC Radio 4)
The Day We Won Wimbledon (BBC Radio 5 live)

:: Best Comedy
Bridget Christie Minds The Gap (BBC Radio 4)
Here Be Dragons (BBC Radio Wales)
John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme (BBC Radio 4)
The Blagger's Guide To Doctor Who (BBC Radio 2)
The Secret World (BBC Radio 4)

:: Best Drama
Babbage (BBC Radio 3)
Darkside (BBC Radio 2)
How To Have A Perfect Marriage (BBC Radio 4)
Lost and Found (BBC Radio 4)
The Morpeth Carol (BBC Radio 4)

:: Station of the Year (under 1 million)
BBC Tees
Moray Firth Radio
National Prison Radio

:: Station of the Year (1 million plus)
BBC Radio Ulster
LBC 97.3
Metro Radio

:: UK Station of the Year
BBC Radio 2
BBC Radio 4



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.