Mind shortlist out

Mental health charity Mind has released the shortlist for its Journalist of the Year Award 2008. The seven nominated journalists include three from the regional press: Anne Fitzgerald, Essex Chronicle, Nadia Stone, Exeter Express & Echo and Dominique Taylor, Bexley Extra. The author of The Guardian’s Bad Science column Ben Goldacre is also nominated, as are Amelia Hill, The Observer, Andrew Johnson, Independent on Sunday, and Mary O’Hara, Society Guardian.

Separately, BBC home editor, Mark Easton, has been shortlisted for the Mind Champion of the Year Award 2008, along with journalist and author Clare Allan. Sunday Express editor Martin Townsend is shortlisted for the Mind Book of the Year Award 2008. In his book The Father I Had, Townsend presents a vivid personal account of growing up with a father diagnosed with bipolar disorder.

The awards will be presented at the Mind Awards event, hosted by Mind’s president Melvyn Bragg in central London on 15 May.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *