Mike Atherton up for three Sports Journalism Awards - Press Gazette

Mike Atherton up for three Sports Journalism Awards

Times cricket correspondent Michael Atherton is in line for a unique triple after making it on to the shortlist for three British Sports Journalism Awards.

The former England captain has added nominations in the columnist and specialist correspondent categories to the nomination he received earlier this month in the broadcaster of the year category for his work on Sky Sports’ Test cricket coverage.

Atherton, who is currently with the England cricket team at the World Cup on the Indian sub-continent, was named sports writer of the year in last year’s British Sports Journalism Awards.

Like Atherton, Getty Images photographer Mike Hewitt has been nominated in three awards categories.

A total of 17 sports broadcasting and writing prizes will be handed out at the Sports Journalist’s Association’s annual awards dinner in London on Monday, 7 March – including a new prize this year for the best sports newspaper.

The writer of the year will be selected by sports editors of national newspapers, while photographer of the year will be chosen from the portfolios entered, both awards announced at the dinner.

The awards shortlists:

Sports News Reporter: Neil Ashton (News of the World), Rob Draper (Mail on Sunday), Paul Kelso (D.Telegraph), Simon Mullock (Sunday Mirror), Mark Souster (Times), Martyn Ziegler (Press Association).

Sports Columnist: Michael Atherton (Times), Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday), Paul Hayward (Guardian), Oliver Holt (D.Mirror), Martin Samuel (D.Mail), Matthew Syed (Frelance).

Specialist Correspondent: Michael Atherton (Times), Scyld Berry (Sun. Telegraph), Derek Lawrenson (D.Mail), Ian Ridley (Freelance), Mike Selvey (Guardian), Henry Winter (D.Telegraph).

Sports Feature Writer: Paul Hayward (Guardian and Observer), Anna Kessel (Guardian), James Lawton (Independent), Martin Samuel (D.Mail), Owen Slot (Times), Matthew Syed (Times).

Sports Interviewer: Oliver Brown (D.Telegraph), Malcolm Folley (Mail on Sunday), Donald McRae (Guardian), Brough Scott (Racing Post), Peter Thomas (Racing Post), Jim White (D.Telegraph).

Sports Scoop: Harry Harris (ESPN), David Maddock (D.Mirror), Mazher Mahmood (News of the World), David McDonnell (D.Mirror), Steve James and Scyld Berry (Sun.Telegraph), Martyn Ziegler (Press Association).

Young Sports Writer: Riath Al-Samarrai (Freelance), Oliver Brown (D.Telegraph), Andy Bull (Guardian), John Dennen (Boxing News and Fighting Fit), Alex Kay (D.Mail), Laura Williamson (D.Mail).

Regional Writer: Mathew Beard (Evening Standard), Phillip Buckingham (Hull Daily Mail), Jon Colman (Cumbrian Newspapers), Amanda Little (News&Star/Cumberland News), Delme Parfitt (Media Wales), Martin Smith (The Star, Sheffield).

Internet Sports Writer: Lawrence Booth (DailyMail.co.uk), Andy Bull (Guardian.co.uk), Tom Fordyce (BBC Sport Interactive), Nick Harris (Sportingintelligence.com), Jonathan Liew (Telegraph.co.uk), Ian McNeilly (Box Rec News).

Betting Writer: David Ashforth (Racing Post), Ed Hawkins (Freelance), Derek McGovern (D.Mirror), Steve Palmer (Racing Post), Kevin Pullein (Racing Post), Greg Wood (Guardian).

Sports Broadcaster: Michael Atherton (Sky), Jake Humphrey (BBC), Mark Saggers (Talksport), Nasser Hussain (Sky), Jonathan Overend (BBC Radio), Ray Stubbs (ESPN).

TV Programme: Ryder Cup (Sky), Channel Four Racing, Formula One (BBC), French Open Tennis (Eurosport), Cricket (Sky), Wimbledon (BBC).

Radio Programme: Five Live Sport (BBC), Sports Breakfast (Talksport), Matchday Live (Talksport), Test Match Special (BBC), Ryder Cup (BBC), Wimbledon (BBC).

Sports Picture Portfolio: Marc Aspland (Times), Shaun Botterill (Getty Images), Laurence Griffiths (Getty Images), Andy Hooper (D.Mail), Eddie Keogh (Reuters), Jamie McDonald (Getty Images), Carl Recine (Action Images).

Specialist Picture Portfolio: Carl De Souza (AFP), Mike Hewitt (Getty Images), Clive Mason (Getty Images), Paul Thomas (Freelance), Darren Walsh (Chelsea FC), Edward Whitaker (Racing Post).

Sports Picture: Julian Finney (Getty Images), John Gichigi (Getty Images), Paul Gilham (Getty Images), Mike Hewitt (Getty Images), Bogdan Maran (Freelance), Mark Pain (Mail on Sunday), Lee Smith (Action Images).

Sports News Picture: Jason Cairnduff (Action Images), Mike Hewitt (Getty Images), Eddie Keogh (Reuters), Philip Noble (Reuters), Stuart Robinson (D.Express), Michael Steele (Getty Images).

Cartoonist: Graham Allen (News of the World), Tony Husband (Times), Kerber & Black (D.Mirror), Steve O’Brien (Mail on Sunday), Matt Pritchett (D.Telegraph), Paul Trevillion (Guardian and Observer).