Mail titles clean up at The Press Awards - all the winners - Press Gazette

Mail titles clean up at The Press Awards - all the winners

The Daily Mail led the way at tonight’s Press Awards – scooping newspaper of the year, website of the year and news team of the year.

It also picked up campaign of the year for its work to get justice for Stephen Lawrence and the Cudlipp Award for outstanding taboid journalism. Writer Craig Brown won columnist of the year (popular) for the Daily Mail, the best of humour award (also for the Daily Mail) and critic of the year for the Mail on Sunday.

Elsewhere, news reporter of the year went to the Daily Mirror’s David Collins in recognition of his work that helped convict the killer of Milly Dowler.

This year’s scoop of the year went to The Guardian for its July 2011 story on how the News of the World hacked into Milly Dowler’s voicemail messages.

Mail on Sunday editor Peter Wright, who is stepping down, was given the judges’ special award.

Here is the full list of winners for the Press Awards 2011:

  • Young Journalist of the Year: Ruth Sherlock, The Daily Telegraph
  • Business and Finance Journalist of the Year: Harry Wilson and Philip Aldrick, The Daily and The Sunday Telegraph
  • Political Journalist of the Year: Isabel Oakeshott, The Sunday Times
  • Foreign Reporter of the Year: Hala Jaber, The Sunday Times
  • ShowBiz Reporter of the Year: Ben Todd, Daily Mail
  • Sports Journalist of the Year: Mark Souster, The Times
  • Specialist Journalist of the Year: Jeremy Laurance, The Independent
  • The Journalists’ Charity Award: Richard Ingrams, the Oldie
  • Feature Writer of the Year (Broadsheet): David James Smith, The Sunday Times Magazine
  • Feature Writer of the Year (Popular): David Jones, Daily Mail
  • Interviewer of the Year (Broadsheet): Deborah Ross, The Independent
  • Interviewer of the Year (Popular): Beth Neil, The Sun
  • Columnist of the Year (Broadsheet): Melanie Reid, The Times
  • Columnist of the Year (Popular): Craig Brown, Daily Mail
  • Critic of the Year: Craig Brown, The Mail on Sunday
  • Diarist of the Year: The Londoner, London Evening Standard
  • Photographer of the Year: Oliver Scarff, Getty Images
  • Sports Photographer of the Year: Mike Egerton, The Press Association
  • Cartoonist of the Year: Peter Brookes, The Times
  • Campaign of the Year: Daily Mail, Stephen Lawrence campaign
  • Supplement of the Year: The Magazine, The Times
  • Website of the Year: Mail Online
  • The Best of Humour Award: Craig Brown, Daily Mail
  • News Reporter of the Year: David Collins, Daily Mirror
  • The Cudlipp Award: Daily Mail, Stephen Lawrence campaign
  • International Journalist of the Year: Amir Taheri
  • Judges’ Special Award: Peter Wright, Mail on Sunday
  • News Team of the Year: Daily Mail
  • Sports Team of the Year: The Daily Telegraph
  • Business & Finance Team: The Times
  • Production & Design Team: i
  • Scoop of the Year: Millie Dowler phone hacked, The Guardian
  • Front Page of the Year: Rule of the mob, The Daily Telegraph
  • Newspaper of the Year: Daily Mail