Leader leads way in Welsh awards

The Evening Leader scooped five awards at this year’s North Wales Newspapers annual awards.

Jarmolowicz was named reporter of the year while sports editor Nick
Harrison picked up the sports reporter of the year award. Trainee
photographer Jane Widdowson won photographer of the year, and the
Leader collected the best front-page award. The award for campaign of
the year also went to the Leader, for its fight to save the name of the
Welsh infantry regiment the Royal Welch Fusiliers.

The Oswestry
& Border Counties Advertizer was named best paid-for title for the
first time, while there were two joint winners in the free category:
the Rhyl Journal and North Wales Pioneer.

Powys County Times’s “through the night” coverage of the general election earned it the accolade of website of the year.

North Wales Living magazine collected the chairman’s special award for
its launch edition in October. The new magazine has also been
shortlisted in the npower Business Awards as a contender for magazine
of the year.

■ Six North Wales Newspapers’ journalists and
photographers have become the first in Wales to gain Newspaper Society
diplomas in journalism. They were awarded their diplomas at the awards,
which was chaired by chairman Russell Whitehair.

diplomas went to: Claire Hart, North Wales Chronicle; Antonia Merola,
North Wales Pioneer; David Lawson and Sammy Holloway, Border Counties
Advertizer. Photography diplomas went to: Mandy Jones, Wrexham Evening
Leader and Katy Morgan, Denbighshire Free Press.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *