John McLellan collects newspaper of the year award - Press Gazette

John McLellan collects newspaper of the year award

Ex-Scotsman editor-in-chief John McLellan – who was placed on leave by owners Johnston Press last week – collected the newspaper of the year award at last night’s Scottish Press Awards 2012.

Meanwhile the Sunday Herald’s bold decision to name Ryan Giggs as the Premiership footballer at the centre of a controversial privacy injunction last year won the paper a brace of awards for front page of the year and scoop of the year for editor Richard Walker.

The paper’s Ian Bell also won columnist of the year, while Matthew Holehouse won young reporter of the year and David Pratt won reporter of the year for their work on the Sunday title and its daily sister title the Herald.

There were no entries this year from The Scottish Sun, which instead held its own in-house awards ceremony.

The Scotsman was praised by judges for its ‘spades of debate’and they were also particularly impressed with its election coverage and its international section, which they said ‘showed real strength, covering world-wide stories with an eye to Scotland”.

Here is the full list of winners:

Sports photographer of the year

Lynne Cameron, Press Association

News photographer of the year

Wattie Cheung, freelance

Cartoonist of the year

Steven Camley, The Herald

Young journalist of the year

Matthew Holehouse, The Herald/Sunday Herald

Webiste/digital product of the year

Ewan Watt, Daily Record

Weekly newspaper of the year

The Northern Scot

Arts/entertainment journalist of the year

Aidan Smith, Scotland on Sunday

Magazine writer of the year

Peter Ross, Scotland on Sunday

Political journalist of the year

Alan Roden, Scottish Daily Mail

Columnist of the year

Ian Bell, Sunday Herald

Matthew Holehouse, The Herald/Sunday Herald

Newspaper feature writer of the year

Jonathan Brocklebank, Scottish Daily Mail

Sports feature writer of the year

Aidan Smith, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Sports news writer of the year

Keith Jackson, Daily Record

Front page of the year

Sunday Herald, Censored

Journalist team of the year

Edinburgh Evening News, Edinburgh Trams Project

Campaign of the year

Evening Times, Streets Ahead

Scoop of the year

Richard Walker, Sunday Herald, Censored – The Madness of Privacy Laws

Reporter of the year

David Pratt, The Herald/Sunday Herald

Newspaper of the year

The Scotsman



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.