Guild of Health Writers Awards 2010: Full list of winners - Press Gazette

Guild of Health Writers Awards 2010: Full list of winners

Leading journalists working in the health and medical fields were recognised last week at the Guild of Health Writers Awards 2010.

Journalists collected prizes across eight categories at the ceremony at the Royal Society of Medicine, in London, on Thursday.

The winners & runners-up were:
Best Trade/Specialist Feature
Winner: Janet Wright – Party without pain, Frontline
Runner up: Deborah Cohen with Channel 4 – Complications: tracking down the data on oseltamivir, BMJ
Best Regional Publication Feature
Winner: Adam Morris – Mum’s tragic plea: Don’t let me die in here, Edinburgh Evening News
Runner up: Warren Manger – Richard’s medical marvels, Coventry Telegraph
Best Health Campaign
Winner: Edward Davie – Private firms refuse to treat patients with mental illness, BMA News
Runner up: Miranda Akhurst, Paula Pohja & Jenny Hiley –  Which? NHS hospital car parks campaign
Best Online Health Feature
Winner: Kate Kelland – Special report: In austere times can bribery be healthy? 
Runner up: Ellen Widdup – Positive mental attitude – a way back to health 
Best TV Health Programme
Winner: Jane Hughes – Alzheimer’s, BBC News
Runner up: Dorothy Byrne – Dispatches: What’s in your Breakfast, Channel 4
Best Consumer Magazine Feature
Winner: Anna Magee – Can you buy time on your biological clock?, Marie Claire
Runner up: Susannah Hickling – I guess that’s why they call it the Hughes, Reader’s Digest
Best National Newspaper Feature
Winner: Patrick Strudwick – The ex-gay files, The Independent
Runner up: Robin Mckie – How US became hooked on prescription drugs, The Observer
Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Dr Chris Steele



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.