Guardian heads Comments Award shortlist - Press Gazette

Guardian heads Comments Award shortlist

The Guardian has collected ten nominations – more than any other publication – for this year’s Editorial Intelligence Comment Awards.

Media analysis and events business Editorial Intelligence yesterday unveiled the shortlist for the Comment Awards 2010.

The panel of judges, chaired by Baroness Helena Kennedy QC, have narrowed down the nominees across newspapers and online and decided upon shortlisted candidates for each of the 13 categories.

Baroness Kennedy said: ‘Challenging, incisive commentary off and online is such an important factor in shaping debate and public opinion. I believe this is represented across the board in  the fine work of the candidates we have shortlisted today.”

The winners will be announced on Thursday 21st October during a ceremony hosted by commentator, broadcaster and Editorial Intelligence associate, Peter York.

The shortlisted nominees are:

Commentariat of the Year
Jonathan Freedland, The Guardian
Marina Hyde, The Guardian
Simon Jenkins, London Evening Standard and The Guardian
Jenni Russell, The Sunday Times and The Guardian
(A tie between shortlisted candidates led to an extra name on the shortlist for this category)

Best Blogger
Melanie Phillips,
Nick Robinson, BBC
Paul Waugh, London Evening Standard

Best Blog Site
Coffee House, The Spectator
Comment is Free, The Guardian
Telegraph Blogs, Telegraph Media Group

Best Comment Pages
Financial Times
London Evening Standard
The Times

Cultural Commentator
Peter Aspden, Financial Times
Christopher Hitchens, Vanity Fair
Mark Lawson, The Guardian

Diary Page
Diary – As told to Craig Brown, Private Eye
Matthew Bell, The Independent on Sunday Diary
Londoner’s Diary, London Evening Standard

Environment Commentator
Charles Clover, The Sunday Times
Johann Hari, The Independent
George Monbiot, The Guardian

Financial Commentator
Andrew Hill, Financial Times
Anatole Kaletsky, The Times
Martin Wolf, Financial Times

Foreign Commentator
Patrick Cockburn, The Independent
Bronwen Maddox, The Times
Gideon Rachman, Financial Times

Magazine Commentator (including trade media, weeklies and monthlies)
Christopher Hitchens, Vanity Fair
‘Mrs Moneypenny”, FT Magazine
Sathnam Sanghera, Times 2

Media Commentator
Stephen Glover, The Independent
Jeff Jarvis, The Guardian
Peter Preston, The Guardian and The Observer

Political Commentator
Matthew D’Ancona, London Evening Standard
Daniel Finkelstein, The Times
Marina Hyde, The Guardian

Westminster Villager (Political Sketch)
Simon Hoggart, The Guardian
Quentin Letts, Daily Mail
Ann Treneman, The Times



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.