Glamour and Heat tie for consumer mag of the year

Heat and Glamour: joint winners

Heat and Glamour picked up a joint award for consumer magazine of the year at the PPA Awards on Wednesday – Heat for the second year in a row.

The judges could not decide on an overall winner, branding Glamour “the ultimate package” and congratulating it for clinching market leadership from Cosmopolitan in its first year. Heat, they said, had “reached outside itself and spawned the ‘Heat generation'”.

Community Care scooped the prize for best business title for its “challenging” editorial and “changing minds” campaign on children’s mental health.

Now editor Jane Ennis picked up consumer magazine editor of the year and Drapers editor Eric Musgrave was named best business magazine editor. The judges said Now relied on “the quality of its editorial, not the size of its chequebook”. Musgrave was commended for his strong sense of who’s who in the fashion industry.

Music magazine Uncut won consumer specialist title and international magazine and Meed (Middle East Economic Digest) was named international business magazine of the year.

Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear) was voted best columnist (specialist) and AA Gill (GQ) best writer (consumer). Press Gazette editor Ian Reeves scooped writer of the year in the business category. Guy Smith of Arable Farming was best business columnist.

Publisher of the year award went to Radio Times’s Ashley Munday (consumer) and Meed’s Eddie O’Sullivan. Designer of the year was Jack’s Simon Brown (consumer) and Intra’s Jon Hill (business). Waitrose Food Illustrated won best customer magazine.

Other winners included Kath Acres (New Start) for publisher of the year (companies with fewer than 50 staff) and FHM (consumer) and Nursing Times (business) for interactive magazines. Editorial campaign of the year went to Personnel Today.

By Ruth Addicott

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *