Finalists announced for 2007 BSME awards - Press Gazette

Finalists announced for 2007 BSME awards

The shortlist has been announced for the 2007 British Society of Magazine Editors Awards.

Commenting on the finalists, BSME Chair, Jane Bruton, editor-in-chief of Grazia, said: ‘We have had an unprecedented number of entries for the BSME Awards this year and the standard is incredibly high.

“It’s clear that 2007 has been an exceptional year for magazine – and website – innovation.”

The awards will be presented at The London Hilton on Wednesday, 14th November 2007.

2007 BSME AWARDS SHORTLIST (Innovation and Brand Building Shortlists still to be announced)

Editors of the year

Business and Professional Magazines (non-weekly)

Steve Crabb, People Management, Personnel Publications

Matthew Gwyther, Management Today, Haymarket Specialist

Janet Kersnar, CFO Europe, The Economist Group

Richard Lofthouse, CNBC European Business, Ink Publishing

Andrew Sawers, Financial Director, Incisive Media

Corinne Short, The Practitioner, CMP Medica

Andy Simms, Soldier, Ministry of Defence

Business and Professional Magazines (weekly)

Amanda Baillieu, Building Design, CMPi Media

Giles Barrie, Property Week, CMPi Media

Peter Bill, Estates Gazette, Reed Business Information

Denise Chevin, Building, CMPi Media

Jo Haynes, Pulse, CMP Medica

Murdo Morrison, Flight Internationa, Reed Business Information

Entertainment Magazines

Mark Dinning, Empire, Emap Consumer Media

Mark Frith, Heat, EMAP Entertainment

Gill Hudson, Radio Times, BBC Magazines

Conor McNicholas, NME, IPC Media

Steven Murphy, Inside Soap, Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd

Gordon Thomson, Time Out London, Time Out Group

Colin Tough, What’s on TV, IPC Media

Contract Magazines (Business Readership)

Tim Hulse, Business Life, Cedar Communications

Geraint John, CPO Agenda, Redactive Media Group

Jane Lewis, 33 Thoughts, John Brown

Alex Perchard, RSA Journal, Wardour Publishing & Design

Sian Phillips, Teachers, John Brown

Contract Magazines (Consumer Readership)

David Burton, Camouflage, Haymarket Network

Ed Grenby, Sunday Times Travel Magazine, River Publishing

Amanda Morgan, Desire, Publicis Blueprint

Michelle Pamment, Your M&S, Redwood

Sue Robinson, Editor, Sainsbury’s Magazine, Seven Publishing Group

Kathryn Saville, Co-operative Membership Magazine, Redwood

William Sitwell, Waitrose Food Illustrated, John Brown

Current Affairs Magazines

Matthew D’Ancona, The Spectator, Press Holdings Media

Michael Elliott, International Editor, Time Time Inc

John Kampfner, New Statesman, New Statesman Ltd

Jeremy O’Grady, The Week, Dennis Publishing

Katherine Walker, Reader’s Digest, The Reader’s Digest Association

Lifestyle Magazines

Neil Fowler, Which?, Which?

Christine Hayes, Olive, BBC Magazines

Suzanne Imre, Living Etc, IPC Southbank

Sarah Miller, Condé Nast Traveller, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Michelle Ogundehin, Elle Decoration, Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd

Adam Pasco, BBC Gardeners’ World, BBC Magazines

Men’s Magazines

Dylan Jones, GQ, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Fraser MacDonald, Stuff, Haymarket Media Group

Peter Muir, Men’s Fitness, Dennis Publishing

Morgan Rees, Men’s Health, Natmag – Rodale Ltd

Newspaper Magazines

Gillian De Bono, How To Spend It, The Financial Times Ltd

Gerard Greaves, Live, Associated Newspapers Ltd

Nicola Jeal, Observer Food Monthly, Guardian Media Group

Nicola Jea, Observer Woman, Guardian Media Group

Merope Mills, Guardian Weekend, Guardian News & Media

Sue Peart, YOU, Associated Newspapers Ltd

Michael Skapinker, FT Magazine, The Financial Times Ltd

Special Interest Magazines

Owen Blackhurst, Golf Punk, JF Media Ltd

Michael Brook, T3, Future Publishing

Deborah Joseph, Condé Nast Brides, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Dave Musgrove, BBC History Magazine, BBC Magazines Bristol

Paul Parsons, Focus, BBC Magazines Bristol

Vicky Richardson, Blueprint, Wilmington Media

Hugh Sleight, FourFourTwo, Haymarket Consumer Media

Emma Soames, Saga Magazine, Saga Publishing

Sophie Stafford, BBC Wildlife, BBC Magazines Bristol

Women’s Magazines (non-weekly)

Sam Baker, Red, Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd

Louise Chunn, Good Housekeeping, The National Magazine Company Ltd

Sara Cremer, Eve, Haymarket Consumer Media

Jo Elvin, Glamour, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Susie Forbes, Easy Living, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Sue James, Woman & Home, IPC Media

Valery McConnell, Yours, EMAP Esprit

Maureen Rice, Psychologies, Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd

Lucy Yeomans, Harper’s Bazaar, The National Magazine Company Ltd

Women’s Magazines (weekly)

Michael Butcher, Reveal, ACP-Natmag Ltd

John Dale, Take a Break, H. Bauer Publishing Ltd

Michelle Hather, Best, ACP-Natmag Ltd

Karen Livermore, Woman’s Own, IPC Media

Karen Pasquali Jones, Love It!, News Magazines Ltd

Gilly Sinclair, Chat, IPC Media

June Smith-Sheppard, Pick Me Up, IPC Media

Youth & Children’s Magazines, Comics or Fanzines

Siobhan Keeler, Charlie and Lola, BBC Worldwide

Moray Laing, Doctor Who Adventures, BBC Worldwide

Jenny O’Connor, Fun To Learn Friends, Redan Publishing Ltd

Sam Robinson, Girl Talk, BBC Worldwide

Helen Ward, Sky Kids, John Brown

Andrea Wickstead, CBeebies Weekly Magazine, BBC Worldwide

The Fiona Macpherson New Editor of the Year Award

Owen Blackhurst, Golf Punk, JF Media Ltd

Lisa Burrow, Closer, EMAP Consumer Media

Gerard Greaves, Live, Associated Newspapers Ltd

Moray Laing, Doctor Who Adventures, BBC Worldwide

Helena Lang, Source, John Brown

Merope Mills, Guardian Weekend, Guardian News & Media

Kerry Smith, BA Highlife, Cedar Communications

Art Director of the Year

Jonathan Bailey, Dream, River Publishing

Jon Butterworth, Camouflage, Haymarket Network

Joe Frost, NME, IPC Media

Shem Law, Radio Times, BBC Magazines

Maggie Murphy, Guardian Weekend, Guardian News & Media

RichardPowel, Monocle, Monocle

Paul Solomons, GQ, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Geoff Waring, Easy Living, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Jonathan Whitelocke, Red, Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd

Pete Winterbottom, Condé Nast Traveller, Condé Nast Publications Ltd

Launch of the Year

Clare Alstin,, Condé Nast Interactive

Tyler Brûlé, Monocle, Monocle

Simon Caney, Sport, Sport Media and Strategy

William Cash, Spear’s Wealth Management Survey, Luxury Publishing

Paul Douglas, Windows Vista, Future Publishing

Vic Grimshaw,, BBC Magazines

Ali Hall, Look, IPC Media

Malcolm Tait, Wild About, Think Publishing

Website Editor of the Year

Natasha Aitken,, Hearst Digital

Abigail Chisman,, Condé Nast Interactive

Ben Davies, New, New Statesman Ltd

James Dyer,, Emap Consumer Media

Helen Hackworthy, ,BBC Magazines

Emma Lundin,, Condé Nast Interactive

Camilla McPhie,, Condé Nast Interactive

Beverley Watts,, IPC Media

Editors’ Editor of the Year

Louise Court, Cosmopolitan

Sue James, Woman & Home

Allan Jenkins, Observer Magazine

Jane Johnson, Former Editor Closer & First now editorial director, Sunday Magazine

Jeremy Langmead, former Editor Wallpaper* now Editor, Esquire

Conor McNicholas, NME

Sue Peart, YOU Magazine

Alexandra Shulman, Vogue

Lucy Yeomans, Harper’s Bazaar