Final shortlists completed for Regional Press Awards - Press Gazette

Final shortlists completed for Regional Press Awards

Regional press awards


Judges have completed the shortlists for the Press Gazette 2001 Regional Press Awards.

Camelot is sponsoring the top accolade, Regional Newspaper of the Year. Head of public affairs Andrew Jones said: "Regional newspapers have always been important to Camelot and the National Lottery and in the second licence will become even more so. We are delighted to be sponsoring the main award." National Savings is sponsoring the four individual newspaper categories: evening, weekly, free and daily/Sunday as well as Financial Journalist of the Year.

The Regional Newspaper of the Year will be chosen from the winners of the individual newspaper categories.

The full shortlists are:

Weekly Newspaper of the Year: South London Press; The Cumberland News; Shrewsbury Chronicle; Cornish Guardian, Wiltshire Times, Somerset County Gazette.

Free Newspaper of the Year: London Metro; London Jewish News; Camden New Journal; The Wharf; Milton Keynes Citizen; Bedfordshire on Sunday.

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year: The Western Mail; Irish News; Western Morning News; Sunday Life; Business a.m.; Sentinel Sunday, Stoke on Trent.

Evening Newspaper of the Year: Bristol Evening Post; Yorkshire Evening Post; South Wales Argus; Jersey Evening Post; Sheffield Star; Manchester Evening News.

Newspaper Society Front Page of the Year: Derby Evening Telegraph, Post It; Bedfordshire on Sunday, Death Room; Grimsby Evening Telegraph, Twister; Walton, Weybridge & Hersham Herald, Sarah Payne’s Parents; Western Morning News, Foot and Mouth; South Wales Argus, Axed.

Photographer of the Year: Adrian White, South Wales Argus; Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post; Stuart Boulton, The Northern Echo; Dave Betts, Bristol Evening Post; Mark Bickerdike, Yorkshire Evening Post; Richard Doughty, The Northern Echo.

Sports Photographer of the Year: Tim Harley-Easthope, Birmingham Evening Mail; Ann McManus, Irish News; Sarah Nicholson, The Northern Echo;  Steve Ellis, Sheffield Star; Charles Breton, Bristol Evening Post; Sam Bagnall, Sunday Mercury.

Production Team of the Year: Sentinel Sunday, Stoke on Trent; Evening Press, York, Floods Supp-lement; Business a.m.; Leicester Mercury, Leicestershire at War; Shropshire Star; Bournemouth Daily Echo, Weekend Magazine.

Campaign of the Year: Liverpool Echo, "Stop the Rot"; Matlock Mercury, "Free Stephen Downing"; Reading Evening Post, "Save a Failing School"; Yorkshire Post, "A Sporting Chance"; Belfast Telegraph, "Forgotten RUC Widows"; Grimsby Evening Telegraph, "Pay the Fishermen".

Online Reporter of the Year: Melanie Henderson, Business a.m.; Zeddy Lawrence,; David Wardale,; David Behrens, Telegraph & Argus, Bradford.

ITN political editor John Sergeant will present the awards at a special lunch on Friday, 6 July at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane, London. For table bookings please contact Nicky Lusignani on 020 8565 4463.