Economist's Micklethwait named BSME Editors' Editor - Press Gazette

Economist's Micklethwait named BSME Editors' Editor

The Economist’s John Micklethwait picked up the prize for Editors’ Editor at the British Society of Magazine editors awards in London last night.

Amongst a range of other prizes Mike Soutar, founder of Shortlist Media, collected the Mark Boxer lifetime acheivement award.

The awards were held at the Hilton Park Lane hotel in London and featured a surprise performance from singer Tom Jones. The awards were presented by comedian Al Murray and BSME chair Juliet Warkentin, content director of WGSN.

Full list of winners from the BSME awards 2010:

  • Sport, Leisure & Health: Alison Hamlett, Triathlete’s World – NatMag-Rodale
  • Youth Magazines: Annabel Brog, Sugar – Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd
  • Entertainment & Celebrity Magazines: Mark Dinning, Empire – Bauer Media
  • Business & Professional Magazines (non-weekly): Catherine Slessor, The Architectural Review – Emap
  • Business & Professional Magazines (weekly): Jane King, Farmers Weekly – Reed Business Information
  • Special Interest & Hobbies Magazines: Deborah Joseph, Brides – The Condé Nast Publications
  • Newspaper Magazines & Current Affairs Magazines: Merope Mills, Guardian Weekend – Guardian Media Group
  • Men’s Magazines: Morgan Rees, Men’s Health – NatMag-Rodale
  • Women’s Magazines (weekly or fortnightly): Jane Bruton, Grazia – Bauer Media
  • Women’s Magazines (monthly or less frequent): Lorraine Candy, Elle – Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd
  • Customer Magazines (consumer readership): Tom Stainer, BEER – Think Publishing
  • Customer Magazines (business readership): Kenny MacIver, I – Redwood
  • Lifestyle Magazines: Tim de Lisle, Intelligent Life – The Economist Group
  • Consumer Magazine Website Editor of the Year: David Moynihan, NME.COM – IPC Media
  • Business Magazine Website Editor of the Year: Lisa Glancy, – Emap
  • Launch of the Year: Lisa Smosarski, Stylist – ShortList Media
  • Fiona Macpherson New Business Editor of the Year: Peter Guest, This is Africa – The Financial Times
  • Fiona Macpherson New Consumer Editor of the Year: Krissi Murison, NME – IPC Media
  • Art Director of the Year – Business: Finnie Finn, I – Redwood
  • Art Director of the Year – Consumer (weekly or fortnightly): Joe Frost, NME – IPC Media
  • Art Director of the Year – Consumer (monthly or frequent): Marissa Bourke, Elle, Hachette Filipacchi (UK) Ltd
  • Innovation/brand-building initiative of the year:Tony Chambers, Wallpaper* for their Handmade issue – IPC Media
  • Campaign of the year: Winner: Stuart Macdonald, Inside Housing for their Safe As Houses campaign – Ocean Media Group
  • Mark Boxer Award: Mike Soutar – ShortList Media
  • Editors’ Editor of the Year: John Micklethwait, The Economist – The Economist Group



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.