Documentary trio collect top Irish media award - Press Gazette

Documentary trio collect top Irish media award

The top prize at this year’s ESB media awards, which recognise the work of journalists in Ireland and Northern Ireland, was shared between three journalists.

David Power, Kim Bartley and Donnacha O’Briain picked up the Journalist of the Year accolade and €5,000 (£3,420) for their documentary Chavez – Inside the Coup.

For the first time in their 30-year history, the awards were opened to journalists working on Irish editions of UK papers, as well as those in Northern Ireland’s media. This saw The People’s Greg Harkin pick up Scoop of the Year for “Stakeknife Unmasked” and The Independent’s David McKittrick win the opinion category.

Other winners included Mary Holland, who was presented with a Special Judges’ Award for her outstanding contribution to the profession.

“Mary Holland is a journalist who, over more than three decades, has left an indelible mark on the historical record of events in Northern Ireland, on this island and further afield,” said Professor John Horgan, chairman of the judges.

The young journalist title was given to Shane Phelan of the Irish Star. Open to journalists who are under 25, Phelan won the award for a story about a man with £100 of savings who got a loan of £100,000 from Gurranabraher credit union, which he began while working at the Evening Echo, Cork. Other winners were: Political/current affairs: Niamh Sammon and Steve Carson.

Business: Kathleen Barrington, Sunday Business Post.

Journalist Through The Medium Of Irish: Breandán Delap, Foinse.

Sport print:Mary Hannigan, The Irish Times.

Features: Frank McDonald and Kathy Sheridan, The Irish Times.

Regional/provincial print: Jimmy Woulfe, Evening Echo.

Sport Broadcast: Barbara Galavan and Maurice Linnane.

TV documentary: David Power, Kim Bartley and Donnacha O’Briain.

Radio documentary: Paula Carroll, Clare FM.

Regional/provincial broadcast: Teresa O’Malley, Mid-West Radio.