BBC dominates shortlist for SJA Sports Broadcast Awards - Press Gazette

BBC dominates shortlist for SJA Sports Broadcast Awards

The BBC has received fifteen nominations across the four categories of the SJA Sports Broadcast Awards.

The corporation is followed by Sky Sports with five nominations and TalkSport with three. ITV has received just one nomination.

Four times SJA award winner Jeff Stelling, presenter of Sky Sport’s Soccer Saturday, leads the shortlist for the TV broadcaster prize while Jonathan Agnew, the voice of Test Match Special , leads the nominations for the radio broadcaster award.

Only two women appear on the shortlists, battling for the same TV broadcaster prize. The BBC’s Clare Balding, best known for her coverage of live racing events and co-presenting Wimbledon, and Gaby Logan, who fronts the BBC’s Inside Sport.

The shortlists of six candidates cover four award categories: television broadcaster, television programme, radio broadcaster and radio programme.

Previously, the awards straddled both TV and radio to identify just the best sports broadcaster and best sports programme.

Members of the Sports Journalists’ Association will be voting up until 24 February, with winners announced at a ceremony on 8 March.

The shortlisted candidates:

TV Broadcaster
Clare Balding (BBC)
Jake Humphrey (BBC)
Gabby Logan (BBC)
Steve Rider (ITV)
Jeff Stelling (Sky Sports)
Sid Waddell (Sky Sports)

Radio Broadcaster
Jonathan Agnew (BBC)
Alan Green (BBC)
John Inverdale (BBC)
John Murray (BBC)
Garry Richardson (BBC)
Paul Hawksbee (TalkSport)

Television Programme
Test Cricket (Sky Sports)
Darts (Sky Sports)
Open Golf (BBC)
Match of the Day 2 (BBC)
Formula One Grand Prix (BBC)
Soccer Saturday (Sky Sports)

Radio Programme
5Live Sport (BBC)
Test Match Special (BBC)
Fighting Talk (BBC)
Match Day Live (TalkSport)
Hawksbee and Jacobs (TalkSport)
Sportsweek (BBC)



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.