Allardyce doubles up at Scottish Press awards - Press Gazette

Allardyce doubles up at Scottish Press awards

Allardyce: “rare insight”

Scotland on Sunday’s Jason Allardyce was named Journalist of the Year at the Scottish Press awards.

Allardyce, who is SoS political editor, also scooped Political Journalist of the Year for the second year running. The judges said: “His work captures the complete qualities editors seek to find in all their journalists. His approach and access to the inner workings of the Scottish Parliament allow him to give the reader a rare insight into the world of politics.”

Other award winners were: Scottish Daily Newspaper Scoop of the Year: Brian Lironi, Sunday Mail; Reporter of the Year: Steve Smith, Daily Record; Financial/Business Writer of the Year: Kenny Kemp, Sunday Herald; Feature Writer of the Year: Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday; Columnist of the Year: Gillian Bowditch, The Sunday Times; Campaign of the Year: “CHAS”, Sunday Post; Front Page of the Year: “Cradle to Grave”, Daily Mail; Journalist Team of the Year: Daily Record (Anna Smith, Brian McCartney, Keith Macleod); Weekly Paper Journalist of the Year: Jill Buchanan, Falkirk Herald; Sports Journalist of the Year: Bill Leckie, The Sun, and Richard Wilson, The Sunday Times; Arts/Entertainment Writer of the Year: Peter Ross, Sunday Herald; Cartoonist of the Year: Frank Boyle, Edinburgh Evening News; Young Journalist of the Year: Caroline Waterston, Sunday Mail; The David Boyle (Erskine Hospital) Memorial Award: Sarah-Kate Templeton, Sunday Herald; Gaelic Journalist of the Year: Carol Zall, The Scotsman/An Gaidheal Ur; News Photographer of the Year: Colin Mearns, The Herald; Sports Photographer of the Year: Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman.

The lifetime achievement award went to Joe Quinn, Scottish political editor of the Press Association, who joined PA in 1975.

The awards were presented by former Times editor Charles Wilson, who chaired the judging panel, and Deputy First Minister Jim Wallace.

The awards ceremony in Glasgow was organised by the Scottish Daily Newspaper Society and the event attracted 395 entries from 50 publications throughout Scotland.

By Sarah Boden