Two Guardian writers on Orwell Prize journalism shortlist

The Guardian leads the shortlist for this year’s Orwell Prize for political journalism with two nominations.

Amelia Gentleman has been shortlisted fro her social affairs work. She joins Paul Lewis, who last month collected a British Press Award, who has been selected for his investigations around last year’sG20 protests.

The Mail on Sunday‘s Peter Hitchens is shortlisted for the third time in four years for his foreign reporting along with Hamish McRae from The Independent, Anthony Loyd of The Times and John Arlidge of the Sunday Times.

David Reynolds, professor of International History at Cambridge University, has been shortlisted for his work on BBC Radio 4’s America: Empire of Liberty.

Jean Seaton, director of the prize, said: “Although moaning about the decline of journalism has become something of a national and international cliché, these acutely written, well-evidenced, careful bits of contemporary journalism show, in fact, it is in fine form.”

The journalism prize will be presented along with prizes for blogging and for book-writing at a ceremony at Church House, Westminster, on 19th May.

Journalism Prize shortlist:

  • John Arlidge: Sunday Times
  • Amelia Gentleman: The Guardian
  • Peter Hitchens: Mail on Sunday
  • Paul Lewis: The Guardian
  • Anthony Loyd: The Times; Standpoint
  • Hamish McRae: The Independent
  • David Reynolds: BBC

Book Prize:

  • Christopher De Bellaigue: Rebel Land: Among Turkey’s Forgotten Peoples Bloomsbury
  • Petina Gappah: An Elegy for Easterly Faber; Farrar, Straus & Giroux
  • Andrea Gillies: Keeper Short Books
  • John Kampfner: Freedom For Sale: How We Made Money and Lost Our Liberty Simon & Schuster
  • Kenan Malik: From Fatwa to Jihad: The Rushdie Affair and Its Legacy Atlantic Books
  • Michela Wrong: It’s Our Turn to Eat: The Story of a Kenyan Whistle Blower Fourth Estate

Blog Prize:

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *