Trio from PA scoop top North East Press Award - Press Gazette

Trio from PA scoop top North East Press Award

Three journalists working for the Press Association have won the Hard News trophy at the Tom Cordner North East Press Awards.

Tom Wilkinson, Rod Minchin and Hugh MacKnight collected the award for coverage of the police hunt for gunman Raoul Moat last July.

The prize marked the first time reporters from PA have been victorious in the hard news category of the Cordner awards, which were presented at a ceremony at Customs House Theatre in South Shields last week. The event had been postponed from November because of heavy snow.

The night also saw the prize for North East journalist of the year presented to Dave Roberts of the Northern Echo, who also took the honours for online video news.

The trainee journalist prize was won by Dan Warburton of ncjMedia. The magazine of the year prize went to Tynedale Life with the lifetime contribution award went to Jon Smith for his work as a trainer, author and examiner across nearly three decades.

Full list of winners:

North East Journalist of the Year
Dave Roberts – Northern Echo

Tom Cordner Quill for North EastTrainee Journalist of the Year
Dan Warburton – ncjMedia

Highly Commended: Vicky Robson & Sara Nichol – ncjMedia

North East Weekly Newspaper Journalist of the Year
Brian Tilley – Hexham Courant

Graeme Stanton Award – Lifetime contribution to Journalism in the North East
Jon Smith – NCTL examiner, trainer and author

Jim Merrington Prize – North East Photographer of Year
Stuart Boulton – Northern Echo

Highly Commended
Paul Kingston – North News & Pictures

Ian Weir Award – Picture of the Year
Stuart Boulton – Northern Echo

Maurice Brady Award – Hard News
Tom Wilkinson, Rod Minchin, Hugh MacKnight – Press Association, Newcastle

Highly Commended: Dave Roberts Northern Echo

Mike Gilligan Prize – Magazine of Year
Tynedale Life – Editor, Myles Hodnett

Highly Commended: Cheers – Alastair Gilmour

Online Video News coverage
Dave Roberts – Northern Echo

Highly Commended: Gavin Havery – Northern Echo

Fred Hurrell Prize for features
Hannah Davies – ncjMedia

Highly Commended: Sarah Judd – Evening Gazette; Jessica Forster – Sunderland Echo

Durhams Sporting Plate
Mark Douglas – ncjMedia

Highly Commended: John Gibson – Evening Chronicle

NE Prize for Health & Wellbeing coverage
Karen Wilson – ncjMedia

Highly Commended: Hannah Davies – ncjMedia

ABC Spike for overall page design
Alan Formby-Jackson – Evening Gazette

Splash Subbing Award & Tony Dumphy trophy
News Team – Hartlepool Mail

Phillip Hickey Trophy: Columnist/Blogger of the Year
Alastair Gilmour – The Journal

Highly Commended
Brian Tilley – Hexham Courant

Eric Dobson Scroll: Top NCE Marks in the region
Alison Goulding – Sunderland Echo



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.