'The Social Network' wins top regional press film prize - Press Gazette

'The Social Network' wins top regional press film prize

The UK’s regional press film critics  have announced their film of the year as The Social Network scooped two awards at this year’s Richard Attenborough Film Awards (RAFA).

The Social Network, the story of the founding of the website Facebook, came top in the film of the year category, whilst the film’s writer Aaron Sorkin was awarded screenwriter of the year.

Colin Firth was voted actor of the year, for The King’s Speech, and Sir Michael Caine was given the All Time Legend award.

Voting for seven of the awards was carried out by arts and entertainment writers, critics and editors between 15 November and 6 December.

A further seven awards at this year’s RAFA’s were decided by public vote.

Full List of Winners for the Richard Attenborough Film awards:

UK regional critics vote:

  • Film of The Year – Social Network
  • Filmmaker of The Year – Christopher Nolan: director, Inception
  • Screenwriter of The Year – Aaron Sorkin: The Social Network
  • Actor of The Year – Colin Firth: The King’s Speech
  • Actress of The Year – Noomi Rapace: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
  • Rising Star of The Year – Chloe Moretz: Kick-Ass, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Let Me In
  • All Time Legend – Sir Michael Caine

UK Public Vote:

  • British Film of the Year – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1
  • Film Star of 2010 – Angelina Jolie: Salt
  • Animated Film of the year – Toy Story 3
  • Breakthrough Star of the year – Chloe Moretz: Kick-Ass
  • 3D Film of the year – Toy Story 3
  • Top Film Character of the year – Edward Cullen: The Twilight Saga: Eclipse
  • Family Film of the year –  Toy Story 3



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.