Society of Editors Press Awards for 2015: Full list of finalists - Press Gazette

Society of Editors Press Awards for 2015: Full list of finalists

The finalists have been announced for the Society of Editors Press Awards.

The winners are set to be announced at the awards winner on 22 March.

The Sunday Times leads the nominations with 22, followed by the Mail on Sunday on 19 and The Times on 18.

Young Journalist of the Year

Josh Boswell – The Sunday Times
Stephen Bush – The New Statesman
Martha Kelner – The Mail on Sunday
Jaber Mohamed – The Mail on Sunday
Tom Rowley – The Daily Telegraph
Dean Wilkins – The Sun

Business and Finance Journalist – sponsored by EY

FT Investigation into Hanergy – Financial Times
Simon Goodley – The Guardian
Russell Lynch – London Evening Standard and The Independent
Richard Milne – Financial Times
Simon Neville – London Evening Standard
Oliver Shah – The Sunday Times

Political Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Luther

Janan Ganesh – Financial Times
Matthew Parris – The Times
Andrew Rawnsley – The Observer
Tim Shipman – The Sunday Times
Rachel Sylvester – The Times
Simon Walters – The Mail on Sunday

Foreign Reporter of the Year – sponsored by Reuters

Ian Birrell – The Mail on Sunday
Patrick Cockburn – The Independent and i
Patrick Kingsley – The Guardian
Christina Lamb – The Sunday Times
Andy Lines – Daily Mirror
Erika Solomon – Financial Times

Science and Health Journalist of the Year – sponsored by the Wellcome Trust

Stephen Adams – The Mail on Sunday
Sarah Boseley – The Guardian
Steve Connor – The Independent on Sunday and The Independent
Charlie Cooper – The Independent
Paul Gallagher – The Independent on Sunday
Robin McKie – The Observer

ShowBiz Reporter of the Year

Richard Brooks – The Sunday Times
Scott Bryan – Buzzfeed News
Nicola Methven – Daily Mirror
Will Payne – The Sun
Vanessa Thorpe – The Observer
Dan Wootton – The Sun

Sports Journalist of the Year

Oliver Brown – The Daily and The Sunday Telegraph
Paul Hayward – The Daily and The Sunday Telegraph
Ian Herbert – The Independent and i
Matthew Syed – The Times
Danny Taylor – The Observer
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association

Specialist Journalist of the Year – sponsored by JTI

Tim Bullamore – Freelance (The Daily Telegraph)
Laura Donnelly – The Daily Telegraph
Dan Jones – The Sun
Sam Jones – Financial Times
Sean O’Neill – The Times
Jay Rayner – The Observer

Interviewer of the Year: Popular

Natalie Clarke – Daily Mail
Charlotte Edwardes – London Evening Standard
Rebecca Hardy – Daily Mail
Cole Moreton – The Mail on Sunday
Tom Parry – Daily Mirror
Stephanie Rafanelli – London Evening Standard

Interviewer of the Year: Broadsheet

Bryan Appleyard – The Sunday Times
Lynn Barber – The Sunday Times
Mick Brown – The Daily Telegraph
Simon Hattenstone – The Guardian
Camilla Long – The Sunday Times
Krissi Murison – The Sunday Times

Feature Writer of the Year: Popular

Guy Adams – Daily Mail
Paul Bracchi – Daily Mail
Robert Hardman – Daily Mail
Oliver Harvey – The Sun
David Jones – Daily Mail
Tom Leonard – Daily Mail

Feature Writer of the Year: Broadsheet

Ian Birrell – The Mail on Sunday
Martin Fletcher – The Times
Jonathan Freedland – The Guardian
Simon Hattenstone – The Guardian
Ben Judah – POLITICO Europe
Ben Machell – The Times

Columnist of the Year: Popular

Ian Birrell – Freelance (Daily Mail, The Independent, The Sun)
Richard Godwin – London Evening Standard
Dominic Lawson – Daily Mail
Sam Leith – London Evening Standard
Brian Reade – Daily Mirror
Ros Wynne-Jones – Daily Mirror

Columnist of the Year: Broadsheet

David Aaronovitch – The Times
Giles Coren – The Times
Barbara Ellen – The Observer
Simon Jenkins – London Evening Standard
Dominic Lawson – The Sunday Times
Charles Moore – The Daily Telegraph

Critic of the Year

Craig Brown – The Mail on Sunday
Laura Cumming – The Observer
AA Gill – The Sunday Times
Marina O’Loughlin – The Guardian
Alexis Petridis – The Guardian
Jay Rayner – The Observer

Photographer of the Year

Manu Brabo – The Sunday Times
Phil Coburn – Daily Mirror
Jack Hill – The Times 
Jeff Mitchell – Getty Images
Stefan Rousseau – Press Association
Andrew Testa – The Sunday Times

Sports Photographer of the Year

Marc Aspland – The Times
Andrew Cowie – Colorsport Images
Mike Egerton – Press Association
Stu Forster – Getty Images
Tom Jenkins – The Guardian
Michael Regan – Getty Images

Cartoonist of the Year

Peter Brookes – The Times
Michael Heath – The Mail on Sunday
Morten Morland – The Times
Matt Pritchett – The Daily Telegraph
Chris Riddell – The Observer
Gerald Scarfe – The Sunday Times

Scoop of the Year – sponsored by Gorkana

Blood Money, Nick Craven and Nigel Bunyan – The Mail on Sunday
Doping Scandal, Team Insight – The Sunday Times
Fifa Investigation, Team Insight – The Sunday Times
Lord Coke, Stephen Moyes – The Sun
Tatler Tory, Simon Walters, Brendan Carlin and Tim Walker – The Mail on Sunday
The Diamond Geezers, Russell Myers – Daily Mirror

News Reporter of the Year

Nick Craven – The Mail on Sunday
Emily Dugan – The Independent and i
Andrew Gilligan – The Sunday Telegraph
Stephen Moyes – The Sun
David Rose – The Mail on Sunday
Omar Wahid – The Mail on Sunday

The Digital Innovation Award – sponsored by Google

Financial Times
The Daily Telegraph
The Guardian
The Times
VICE Media

Website of the Year

London Evening Standard
Mirror Online
The Guardian
The Independent
VICE Media

Front page of the Year

£11 Million – The Mail on Sunday
Busted – The Sun
I can’t believe I escaped this – Sunday Mirror
Terror in Paris – i
Tiny victim of a human catastrophe – Daily Mail
United We Stand – The Times

Supplement of the Year

Culture, The Sunday Times
FT Weekend Magazine
Style, The Sunday Times
The Guardian Weekend Magazine
The Saturday Times Magazine
You Magazine, The Mail on Sunday

Sports Team of the Year

Record Sport
Telegraph Sport
The Guardian Sport
The Sunday Times Sport
The Times Sport

News Team of the Year

Daily Mirror
The Guardian
The Mail on Sunday
The Sun
The Sunday Times
The Times

The Cudlipp Award – organised by the British Journalism Review

Athletics Doping Scandal – The Sunday Times
Charity Cold-Calling campaign, Daily Mail
Criminal Courts Charges campaign – The Independent
Guantanamo/Shaker Aamer campaign – The Mail on Sunday   
Teddy’s Story campaign – Daily Mirror
The Estate We’re In campaign – London Evening Standard                 

Newspaper of the Year

Daily Mail
London Evening Standard
The Mail on Sunday
The Sun
The Sunday Times
The Times

Author: Dominic Ponsford

Dominic Ponsford is the editor of Press Gazette