View all newsletters
Sign up for our free email newsletters

Fighting for quality news media in the digital age.

  1. News
December 16, 2008

Double win at Motoring Writers Awards for Daily Mail man

By martinabooth

The Daily Mail’s Transport Editor Ray Massey and author Karl Ludvigsen were big winners at this year’s Guild of Motoring Writers Awards.

Massey was awarded for his coverage of environmental and road safety issues in motoring and the motor industry, while Ludvigsen was recognised for his coverage of the history of motoring and motorcycling and automotive technology.

The ceremony was held at the RAC Club in London’s Pall Mall last Friday.

Content from our partners
Publishing on the open web is broken, how generative AI could help fix it
Impress: Regulation, arbitration and complaints resolution
Papermule: Workflow automation for publishers

The full list of Guild of Motoring Writers award winners are as follows:

AA Environment Award

Winner: Ray Massey

Highly Commended: Richard Aucock

Aston Martin International Trophy

Winner: Karl Ludvigsen

Highly Commended: Alan Cathcart

Automotive PR Consumer Journalist of the Year

Winner: Richard Aucock

Highly Commended: Chris Thorp, Ray Massey

British Car Auctions Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: Giles Chapman

Highly Commended: Sarah Bradley

Cummins Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year

Winner: David Wilcox

Hyundai Photography Awards

Winner: James Lipman

IAM Safety Award in memory of Christopher Bullock

Winner: Ray Massey

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

Winner: Karl Ludvigsen

Highly Commended: Charles Armstrong-Wilson

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

Winners: Karl Ludvigsen, Giles Chapman

Mitsubishi Motors Regional Motoring Journalist of the Year:

Winner: John Powell

Newspress New Media Award

Winner: Tim Pollard

Peugeot Award for the Rootes Gold Cup

Winner: Kim Adams

Renault UK Journalist of the Year

Winner: Alan Cathcart

Highly Commended: Ray Massey

Saab Young Writer of the Year

Winner: Ben Pulman

Skoda Design Award

Winner: Shane O’Donoghue

Pemberton Trophy (committee’s vote)

Winner: Tony Dron

Phil Llewellyn Award

Winner: Poppy Bullock

Sir William Lyons Award sponsored by Jaguar

Winner: Peter Adams

Rider of the Year (members’ vote)

Winner: Valentino Rossi

Driver of the Year (members’ vote)

Winner: Lewis Hamilton

Topics in this article : , ,

Email to point out mistakes, provide story tips or send in a letter for publication on our "Letters Page" blog

Select and enter your email address Weekly insight into the big strategic issues affecting the future of the news industry. Essential reading for media leaders every Thursday. Your morning brew of news about the world of news from Press Gazette and elsewhere in the media. Sent at around 10am UK time. Our weekly does of strategic insight about the future of news media aimed at US readers. A fortnightly update from the front-line of news and advertising. Aimed at marketers and those involved in the advertising industry.
  • Business owner/co-owner
  • CEO
  • COO
  • CFO
  • CTO
  • Chairperson
  • Non-Exec Director
  • Other C-Suite
  • Managing Director
  • President/Partner
  • Senior Executive/SVP or Corporate VP or equivalent
  • Director or equivalent
  • Group or Senior Manager
  • Head of Department/Function
  • Manager
  • Non-manager
  • Retired
  • Other
Visit our privacy Policy for more information about our services, how New Statesman Media Group may use, process and share your personal data, including information on your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications.
Thank you

Thanks for subscribing.

Websites in our network