Matthew D'Ancona named 'commentariat' of the year

Matthew D’Ancona was named comment writer of the year at the annual comment awards organised by media networking and events company Editorial Intelligence this morning.

The Times and the Financial Times were the two publications with the most prizes, picking up four each.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Online Comment Site: Mumsnet

  • Business Commentator: John Gapper, Financial Times
  • Cultural Commentator: Simon Kuper, Financial Times
  • Economics Commentator: Irwin Stelzer, The Sunday Times
  • Foreign Commentator: David Pilling, Financial Times
  • Independent Blogger: Sunny Hundal, &
  • Mainstream Media Blogger: Robert Peston, BBC
  • Media Commentator: Peter Wilby, New Statesman
  • Political Commentator: Daniel Finkelstein, The Times
  • Sketch Commentator:  Ann Treneman, The Times
  • Sports Commentator:  Mike Atherton, The Times
  • Twitter Commentator: David Aaronovitch, @DAaronovitch
  • Columnist of the Year: Hugo Rifkind, The Times
  • Best Comment Pages: Financial Times
  • Commentariat of the Year: Matthew d’Ancona, The Sunday Telegraph & London Evening Standard
  • Chair’s Choice chosen by Harvey Goldsmith CBE as Chair of the Judges: London Evening Standard

And here is a link to the EI Comment Awards 2011 winners brochure.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 + six =