Guardian launches 2010 Student Media awards - Press Gazette

Guardian launches 2010 Student Media awards

The Guardian Student Media awards 2010 have launched with a new category to recognise innovative uses of digital technology to help tell stories.

The awards, which are aimed at young journalists working on student publications and radio stations, will for the first time this year acknowledge the growth of social media with a new digital journalist of the year category.

The new prize will allow students to enter work which has appeared in blogs and twitter feeds even if it hasn’t been published in their student newspaper or broadcast on their student radio station.

The six categories this year are:

  • Publication of the Year
  • Reporter of the Year
  • Writer of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Digital Journalist of the Year
  • Broadcast Journalist of the Year

The awards will be judged by a panel which includes Guardian editor Alan Rusbridger, Jon Snow, presenter of Channel 4 News, Krissi Murison, editor of NME and Newsnight presenter Emily Maitlis.

Each winner will receive a month-long work experience placement at The Guardian.

Press Gazette last ran its Student Journalism Awards in June 2008. The title was then sold to Progressive Media International in April 2009 with former owner Wilmington retaining the rights to the awards, which have not continued.