Award for Kelner's Indy

imon Kelner of The Independent was named Editor of the Year in the What the Papers Say awards on Wednesday for the paper’s “clarity in opposing the invasion of Iraq”, its innovative front pages and its new tabloid version.

Scoop of the Year went to Ryan Parry of the Daily Mirror for his Buckingham Palace security scandal. The Observer and The Guardian shared the columnist award, which went to David Aaronovitch for his “brave stance” on Iraq. Foreign Correspondent of the Year was The Guardian’s Audrey Gillan.

The late Hugo Young, pictured, of The Guardian won the Gerald Barry Award for Lifetime Achievement, which was collected by his widow Lucy. Judges described Young, who died in September, as “a massive journalistic figure who couched his ferocious intelligence and passion in the most elegant language”.

Sportswriter of the Year went to Simon Barnes of The Times and Ally Ross of The Sun won Television Critic of the Year.

Cartoonist of the Year was Stan “Mac” McMurty of the Daily Mail, Richard Mills of The Times won Photographer of the Year and Sports Photographer of the Year went to Mark Robinson of The Sun.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *