Sports desks to be honoured at awards

The Sunday Times, Daily Telegraph and Getty Images are poised to clean up at this year’s Sports Journalism and Photography Awards organised by the Sports Journalists’ Association.

All three are represented in at least six categories. On a regional level, the Yorkshire Evening Post is featured in two categories, regional writer of the year, with two nominations, and sports team of the year for its coverage of Leeds United.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Radisson SAS Portman Hotel, London, on 8 March.

Sports columnist: Hugh McIIvanney, The Sunday Times; Paul Hayward and Michael Parkinson, both The Daily Telegraph; Patrick Collins, The Mail on Sunday; Martin Samuel, The Times; Brian Reade, Daily Mirror; James Lawton, The Independent.

Specialist correspondent: Simon Wilde, Brian Doogan and Stephen Jones, all The Sunday Times; Henry Winter, The Daily Telegraph; Harry Harris, Daily Express; Rob Draper, The Mail on Sunday; Alastair Down, Racing Post.

Sports feature writer: Simon Hart, The Sunday Telegraph; Andrew Longmore, The Sunday Times; Kevin Mitchell, The Observer; Andrew Anthony, The Observer Sport Monthly; Simon Barnes, The Times; Paul Hayward, The Daily Telegraph; Patrick Collins, The Mail on Sunday; Oliver Holt, Daily Mirror.

Sports news reporter: Charles Sale, Daily Mail; Neil Ashton, The People; David Conn, The Independent; Mihir Bose, The Daily Telegraph; Harry Harris, Daily Express; Martyn Ziegler, the Press Association; Joe Melling, The Mail on Sunday; David Bond, The Sunday Times.

Regional sports writer: John Gibson, Evening Chronicle, Newcastle; David Mullahey, Liverpool Daily Post; James Toney, Sportsbeat/The Herald, Glasgow; Paul Dews and Phil Rostron, both Yorkshire Evening Post; Martin Smith, The Star, Sheffield.

Sports interviewer: Paul Kimmage and David Walsh, both The Sunday Times; Alison Kervin, The Times; Donald McRae, The Guardian; Sue Mott, The Daily Telegraph; Nick Townsend, The Independent on Sunday.

Sports diarist: Charles Sale, Daily Mail; Mihir Bose, The Daily Telegraph; Alan Hubbard, The Independent on Sunday.

Sports portfolio: Phil Cole, Shaun Botterill and Clive Mason, all Getty Images.

Sports action picture: Shaun Botterill, Getty Images; Andy Hooper, Daily Mail.

Specialist portfolio: Tom Jenkins, The Guardian/Observer; Dave Rogers, Getty Images; Edward Whitaker, Racing Post.

Sports news picture:Marc Aspland, The Times; Dave Rogers, Getty Images; John Dawes, freelance.

Sports feature picture: Scott Barbour and Ross Kinard, both Getty Images; Paul Pickard, The Sentinel, Stoke.

Sports picture of the year: Shaun Botterill, Getty Images; Mark Robinson, The Sun; Edward Whitaker, Racing Post.

David Worthy award: Robert Hallam, freelance; Robert Timoney, freelance; Geoff Waugh, freelance.

Sports Team: Yorkshire Evening Post – Leeds United; The Times – Rugby World Cup; The Sunday Times – Rugby World Cup; The Daily Telegraph – London 2012 Bid; The Observer Sport Monthly – Review of World Cup.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *