SJA sports writer of the year shortlist announced

The Sports Journalists’ Association sports writer of the year shortlist has a familiar look – four of the six nominated are past winners of the award.

The two newcomers are Mike Atherton, The Times chief cricket correspondent and former England captain, and Oliver Holt, of the Daily Mirror.

Martin Samuel – who this year moved from The Times to the Daily Mail – is bidding to win the title for the fourth year in succession.

Other nominees are Paul Hayward, who recently moved from the Daily Mail to Guardian News and Media, and won the title in 1996.

Patrick Collins, of the Mail on Sunday, is looking to add to titles won in 2002, 1997, 1990, and 1989.

Completing the list is James Lawton, of The Independent, who won in 1998.

The winner will be announced next Monday, at a dinner in London hosted by Sports Journalists’ Association president Sir Michael Parkinson.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *