Sheffield's Fish nets hockey award

Derek Fish, sports editor of the Sheffield Telegraph, has been voted the eighth winner of the Chris Moore Memorial Regional Hockey Writer of the Year Award, organised by the Hockey Writers’ Club and sponsored by The Daily Telegraph.

The 2003 winner of the award for the best non-professional writer was Nick Wall for his contributions to the Swindon Evening Advertiser.

Fish and Wall will receive plaques and cheques from David Welch, sports editor of The Daily Telegraph, at the Hockey Writers’ Club annual presentation ceremony next week.

Runner-up in the professional category was Howard Griggs, sports subeditor/ writer of the Brighton Argus and Sports Argus, while Malcolm Robson, freelance contributor to The Bath Chronicle, came second in the non-professional category.

The judging panel comprised Trevor Bond, former sports editor of The Sunday Telegraph, Claire Middleton, Daily Telegraph hockey correspondent, and Pat Rowley, Hockey Writers’ Club chairman and hockey correspondent for Reuters and the Sunday Express.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *