Press Gazette hat trick in Young Journalist of the Year awards

Three journalists from Press Gazette have been nominated in the Periodical Training Council New Journalist of the Year awards.

Sarah Lagan has been shortlisted for Business News Journalist of the Year, Martin Stabe for Online Journalist of the Year and Zoe Smith for Business Features Journalist of the Year.

Building magazine collected five nominations, three in the business features category and two in the business news category.

In the category for the most promising student journalist, Goldsmiths College led the way with four nominations. A Press Gazette Student Journalism Award winner, Chloe Smith of Highbury College, was also among the nominees in the student category.

A PTC spokesman said: “Now in their 23rd year, the PTC new journalist awards have established a reputation for promoting and rewarding excellence and are the highest accolade the industry can give to its gifted new stars.”

The full shortlist follows:

New Consumer Specialist/Customer Magazine Journalist of the Year

  • Henry Catchpole, EVO Magazine, EVO Publishing
  • Sarah Davis, Bob the Builder / The Tweenies, Learn with the Tweenies, BBC Worldwide
  • Amanda Hyde, The Sunday Times Travel Magazine, River Publishing
  • Simon Ingram, Trail, Emap Active
  • Barry Keating, DVD Review, Future Publishing
  • Tom Rayner, MotorCycle News, Emap Automotive
  • Ian Taylor, BBC Focus Magazine BBC Customer Publishing
  • Liz Thomas, The Stage Newspaper, The Stage

    New Consumer

General Weekly Journalist of the Year

  • Rachel Cocker, Reveal, ACP-NatMag Partnership
  • Caroline Corcoran, More, Emap Elan
  • Rosie Mullender, Love It!, News Magazines Ltd
  • Emma Patterson, More, Emap Elan
  • Clair Stretton, Real People, ACP-NatMag Partnership
  • Sarah Thorne, TV Times, IPC Media

New Consumer General Monthly Journalist of the Year

  • Kate Blythe, Elle, Hachette Filipacchi
  • Katy Brent, Sugar, Hachette Filipacchi
  • Miranda Collinge, Esquire, The National Magazine Company
  • Matt Sanger, What Car?, Haymarket
  • Monisha Rajesh, Little White Lies Magazine, Church of London Publishing
  • Frances Wasem, Harper’s Bazaar, The National Magazine Company

New Business News Journalist of the Year

  • Laura Chesters, Property Week, CMP Information
  • Sarah Lagan, Press Gazette, Press Gazette
  • Rachel Liddle, GP, Haymarket
  • Vikki Miller, Building, CMP Information
  • Sarah Richardson, Building, CMP Information
  • Jonathan Young, New Civil Engineer, Emap Construct

New Business Features Journalist of the Year

  • Ian Ashbridge, Farmers Weekly, Reed Business Information
  • Jonathan Brasse, Property Week, CMP Information
  • Anna Goldie, Property Week, CMP Information
  • Vikki Miller, Building, CMP Information
  • Sally Percy, Accountancy Magazine, Wolters Kluwer (UK)
  • Sarah Richardson, Building, CMP Information
  • Zoe Smith, Press Gazette, Press Gazette
  • Emily Wright, Building, CMP Information

New Online Journalist of the Year

  • Charlotte Duck,, The Style Channel, Conde Nast
  • David Masters,, The Sun Online
  • Tim Redmayne,, Haymarket Motoring
  • Martin Stabe,, Press Gazette

New Magazine Designer of the Year

  • Ilona Elias, More, Emap Elan
  • Zoya Kaleeva, Good Housekeeping, The National Magazine Company
  • Basia Paczesna-Vercueil, Radio Times, BBC Magazines
  • Ross Presly, AutoCar, Haymarket Publishing
  • Tina Smith, Property Week, CMP Information
  • Richard Spencer, Zoo, Emap

Most Promising Student Journalist of the Year

  • Jessica Cheam, Goldsmiths College
  • Laura Deeley, Goldsmiths College
  • Raphael Giacardi, University of Bournemouth
  • Katherine Haywood, Goldsmiths College
  • Joe Lutrario, University College Falmouth
  • Sam Philip, University of Cardiff
  • Chloe Smith, Highbury College
  • Olivia Solon, Goldsmiths College

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *