Picture Editors' Guild Awards: full list of winners

The Associated Press‘s Matt Dunham was named photographer of the year at last night’s Picture Editors’ Guild Awards.

Dunham also scooped the royal photographer of the year prize for his photo of Prince Charles and the Duchess of Cornwall coming under attack from protestors in central London.

The expanded awards contest had nine categories including a new section recognising the impact of citizen photography.

Former Sunday Times editor Sir Harry Evans, currently editor-at-large for Reuters, helped present awards at the event, which were hosted by the BBC’s Kate Silverton in London.

The awards were judged by a panel of 12 senior picture editors representing national and regional publishers and media agencies in the UK, with the chairman’s award for contribution to the industry going to double Pulitzer Prize winner Horst Faas, who travelled from Germany to receive the honour.

Guild chairman Alan Sparrow said: ‘Ours is a competitive and sometimes combative occupation but we come together on occasions like this to celebrate and admire the work of some of our most talented colleagues and rivals.”

A selection of the winning images will go on display at the Museum of London from the end of September until January 2011.

Here is the full list of winners:

Photographer of the year

Matt Dunham

News photographer of the year

Winner – Carl Court

Commended – Matt Dunham, Paul Hackett, Jeremy Selwyn

Photographer of the year

Winner – Dave Benett

Commended – Wattie Cheung, Jon Enoch, Mike Marsland

Business photographer of the year

Winner – Christopher Ratcliffe

Commended – Jason Alden, Dan Kitwood

Young photographer of the year

Winner – Matt Lloyd

Commended – Adam Gerrard, Don Romney, Justin Tallis

Sports photographer of the year

Winner – Mike Egerton

Commended – Marc Aspland, John Giles, Ian McNicol

Royal photographer of the year

Winner – Matt Dunham

Commended – Chris Furlong, Christopher Jackson, Toby Melville

Regional photographer of the year

Winner – Anthony Chappel-Ross

Commended – Simon Hulme, Cathal McNaughton, David Moir

Citizen photographer of the Year

Winner – Ben Jacobson

Commended – Charlie Forgham-Bailey, Peter Dewhirst, Chris Smith

Photo essay photographer of the year

Winner – Dan Kitwood

Commended – Mark Bickerdike, Matt Dunham, Jack Hill

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *