Newspapers return to British Press Awards

This year’s British Press Awards will be the first for several years with entries from every national newspaper group.

The Press Gazette-organised event was boycotted last year by Telegraph Group and Associated Newspapers after they cited concerns about the involvement of Press Gazette’s then owner, PR man Matthew Freud.

But in December, Press Gazette was taken over by Wilmington PLC which has in turn taken over the running of the event.

Some 70 judges will decide the winners of the 19 fiercely competitive award categories – which include scoop of the year, front page of the year and reporter of the year.

Each national newspaper has been invited to nominate a judge and the various award panels will consist of a mixture of national newspaper representatives and independent experts. The newspaper of the year will be decided by an academy of more than 120 distinguished figures from UK journalism.

Chairman of judges and Press Gazette editor-in-chief Tony Loynes said: ‘For more than 30 years the British Press Awards have celebrated and promoted the very best in British journalism.

‘Under its new owners, Press Gazette is determined to ensure that these awards remain the most independent and rigorously fair national journalism awards in the UK – judged by nominees from the newspapers themselves.’Channel Four news presenter Jon Snow is to host the event and this year a raffle will be held in aid of the Journalists’ Charity – prizes donated already include a set of first-class air tickets from British Airways and first-class train tickets from Eurostar.

The event is taking place at the Grosvenor Hotel, London, on the evening of 26 March.

To reserve a table go to or for further enquiries, call 020 7549 8719.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *