New Statesman names new media finalists

The New Statesman New Media Awards are to take place in Central
London on 24 July with eight categories to be recognised in this year’s
ceremony, including Accessibility, Education, and Innovation.

Among the nominees in the Elected Representative category is
David Miliband MP, who described his blog as an “attempt to help bridge
the gap – the growing and potentially dangerous gap – between
politicians and the public.”

Labour MP Derek Wyatt is also up for an award in this category for the
second time in two years, despite the outcome of the 2005 event when
no-one in the Elected Representative category received an award as the
standard was not deemed high enough.
The Advocacy category includes a range of websites from Backing Blair,
a blog that campaigns to unseat Tony Blair from the Labour leadership,
to Radio Active, a site that helps young people develop skills in radio
through workshops and training.

A full list of the 2006 finalists is available at http://www.newstatesman.co.uk/nma/nma2006/nma2006finalists.php

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *